Summer Sewing Swap

My week so far was a bit crazy.

As you all know I work in the video games industry, and those rumours you might have heard about crunch time … well, they’re not rumours. It happens. I’m lucky, as my company and my collegues and managers try to avoid that as much as possible, but still, occasionally I have to work crazy nightshifts for launches.

That happened this week, and it always has a bit of a weird impact on my life. I get the day before and after off – because at launch night, I usually go into the office sometime between midnight and 2am, and a launch can take anything from 6 to 14 hours (or very occasionally even longer). So I try to get some rest before I go in, which means the day is usually spent more lounging and reading and napping than actually doing a lot.

The days leading up to the launch are generally crazy, as a million and one things need to be tested, bug fixes are coming in late, or they break other things, and so on. So by the time I came home Tuesday, I was looking forward to the relatively relaxed Wednesday and very exhausted and a bit down-beat.

And then I found a parcel sitting on my doorstep!! Come to me all the looong way from Sunny California!

I took it in, and carefully set it on my coffee table. I stared at it. I might have felt a bit guilty because mine had just been sent off, and I was worried it might not arrive in time (despite the lady at the post office assuring me it would).

All these mixed feelings made me wonder if I should wait until the 18th before opening it, but of course that lasted for about 45 seconds, then the scissors tore into the paper and I eagerly unwrapped  it.

Maybe you remember me raving about Kitkat Chunky Peanutbutter, and my inability to get them over here? My lovely swapping partner Redsilvia surely did!

That alone would have made my day :) I actually lol’d with glee.

And it got better!

My favorite sewing notions – buttons! There are some lovelies in there, you’ll shortly see more of them, I’m sure!

Adorning one of these beauties (once I’ve made them, obviously), maybe:

I really love the jacket and am hugely intrigued by the blouse construction.

Pants! And another jacket! By designer Issey Miyake, who I adored in the nineties – I still might, but you know how some things just vanish from the surface of your mind.

And another pants pattern – I’m super keen to make the ones with the little latches on the yoke!

To hold all this together – the book I needed and didn’t even know I did :D

I’m sure you’ll hear a lot more about this one.

And last, but not least – some healthier sustenance:

Heirloom seeds! Now to find space on the window sill (next to my other chili plants and the basil – how could she possibly know??).

Silvia, thank you so much, I feel so blessed to have been paired with such a thoughtful swap partner! And I really hope you like my offerings, too … I might have interpreted the “no more than 5″ rule somewhat loosely … *blush*

And of course a huge thank you to Kestrel, who came up with the idea and organized the swap – thank you, this was brilliant!

8 thoughts on “Summer Sewing Swap

  1. This is such a lovely parcel to receive and so thoughtful! This project looks like great fun! Loving the trouser fitting book! Look forward to seeing your creations from it! :D

  2. Yay! I’m glad it made it safely to you! I hope you enjoy the offerings and hope it’s not too much with the trousers ;-)

    I hope the launch went well and you’re life goes back to happy normal.

    Thanks to Kerry for organizing the swap!

    • I love your choices, and I’m so happy about my first fitting book!
      Achieving a better fit for my personal bumps and lumps is what I want to learn more about next, and this is a fantastic first step. Also, I practically live in jeans :D So great to be able to add some variety now.
      Launch went well indeed (just under 10 hours), and I’ve now got a long weekend to enjoy. And sew. And read. And, you know, fit trousers :D

    • Not yet, no – Colette Parfait is sitting all cut on my table next.
      But I have started to look for fabric for the long jacket … I really like how the arm to shoulder construction looks.

  3. What thoughtful items! So glad you enjoyed the swap :) I bet that Pants fitting book will be so useful – I’m sure I’ve seen it on someone else’s blog too.

  4. Pingback: Christmas! Well, not quite, but as good … | The Very Best Jumper

Leave a Reply

