Chevron Jeans skirt

It happened – the sun came out!

And like any good geek, I did what we do after whingeing about the rain for months: I drew the curtains and played Skyrim all weekend. The best laid plans and all that … what can I say. I immensely enjoyed my time-out.

Anyhoo, while pondering strategy and collecting herbs and having a few, good old fashioned brawls with bandits and the like, in the back of my mind I kept pondering an idea that’s been festering for weeks.

I would like to turn my old Jeans into a skirt, more exactly a chevron skirt not unlike this one. As it happens, however, I have not a single pattern for a fairly straight-forward, a-line skirt with  a center seam.

This seems to be simple enough, tho … I should be able to draft one myself? What do you say? And if you have any tips towards your favorite tutorial, I’d love if you left me a link in the comments.

6 thoughts on “Chevron Jeans skirt

  1. The hardest part of the skirt project would be cutting and piecing the denim. I’d just piece two pieces to make a front and back then draft a skirt. All you’d need is your waist and hip measurements or just trace off a skirt you like the fit of. Simples (except the piecing – I say that because it’s not my favorite kind of sewing). You can do it!

    • Yeah, the piecing … lol.
      My idea was to draw a fairly simple a-line, just like you say (waist and hip, maybe a dart in each quarter), tapering out to a comfortable width.
      Then I thought I’d copy the pattern, and cut it up to create the strips (adding seam allowance for length, possibly). Sew the strips, sew the parts, done …
      The center seam is mostly to make the patterning easier, but also to accommodate the limited width of the fabric I can realistically harvest from the old trousers.

  2. There are loads of online tutorials about how to draft an a-line skirt.
    After you have drafted your pattern what I would do is use some light base fabric, draw your chevron lines on each piece so they all match up and then foundation piece the strips onto the base fabric and then make up your skirt. The base fabric becomes underlining and the finish inside is smooth with no knobby raw seams and edges.

Leave a Reply

