Chevron Jeans Skirt – the finishing line

Welcome to part 3 of the epic tale of my upcycled denim skirt.

Where did we stop? Oh, yes … I was pondering how I could make my panels actually fit around me.

To achieve that, I took my Simplicity 2211 and put it down on some brown paper. Then I folded it in half, and started playing with the panels. At some point it occured to me that I could use the angled top of the front panels as pockets, and that made me very happy :) Skirts should have pockets.

So in the end I drew around the front and back panels (having made the back longer than the front by two stripes), copied the new pieces, drew some pockets (generally following the Jalie ones) and cut all the new pieces from stash rags.

Chevron skirt – pockets

Yup, it’s got roses and skulls in the pockets :) And the side panels were cut from leftovers from the above mentioned Jalie jeans.

Chevron skirt – side panel

Then I put it all together:

Chevron skirt – one half of front

Put in a zip:

Chevron skirt – zipper

Now, as you can see, that was not my finest work. I blame the new adjustable invisible zipper foot. Maybe I should have tried it out on some scraps first. Lesson learned.

Finally, I added a small waistband – I wanted this to sit low on my hips, so didn’t do a “proper” waistband.

Chevron skirt – done

And that, my friend, is the story of the Chevron Jeans skirt :) Thanks for staying with me, I know it was a bit lengthy!

Chevron jeans – front

The back has a tiny issue, as you can see – it’s forming a sort of beak. I’m not too bothered by it, but would love to hear how to avoid this next time round!

Chevron jeans skirt – back

9 thoughts on “Chevron Jeans Skirt – the finishing line

  1. i love this so much! I would not have the patience to pull this off! Love the front pocket solution you came up with! The length and fit is great! Such an inventive project! :D
    Did you like using the invisible zipper foot?

    • Thank you! I suspected the pockets might end up a bit gapey, which they are, so the fabric needed to have a bit of a ooomph! to it, so I can pretend it’s all intentional and that … ;)

Leave a Reply

