That’s the way that it goes

You know what they say – if it rains, it pours.

Without wanting to bore you all to death, things are still such that my overall state of mind is a tad more fragile than is usual for me.

So when this happened, it felt like the end of the world:

Wiksten Tova – dead!

This was my second make of the Wiksten Tova (apparently unblogged, I have no idea how this could happen … ). It looks like this, just in a different fabric.

Now, I fell in love with the Wiksten Tova the moment I first saw it on the Pins and Needles blog. After I’d made my first one, I noticed a few fitting issues.

Mainly, the shoulders were too tight. Now, as mentioned before, this is not a new thing for me, but one I tend to forget about.  And at that point in time, I had not yet discovered the wonderful world of fitting.

My solution to the issue, which I misdiagnosed as the armscye being too short, was to add an inch to it’s depth – or so I thought. Basically, I just cut it a little deeper in the side seam, thinking that would add the extra room.

Ha – now I know how wrong I was, and as a matter of fact, once I tried on my second make of the Tova with the “adjusted” armscye, I immediately realized that my “fix” had made the issue worse, not better … but I really like(d) the fabric, so I wore it anyways. To be fair, it was a bit wrinkly over the shoulders, but not looking too bad.

The biggest problem was getting it over my head when I wanted to take it off again, and that’s when it happened – one night last week, I tugged and I pulled, and I heard the distinct “rrrrripppp” of tearing fabric. At first, I thought it was the seam, though.

So when I realized that my seams had actually held up fine, and it was the FABRIC that had ripped (WTF? C’mon, I mean, really?!), I felt a tad proud of my seams.

Seams mostly intact

Nonetheless, this Tova is dead. R.I.P., little Tova ;(

And now, I’ll set out to actually FIX this pattern – I still love it, and want to make more. And I might or might not listen to this song while doing so.

12 thoughts on “That’s the way that it goes

  1. oh no! poor Tova! Still really bizarre what tension can do! At least your sewing skills were validated in that you make amazingly strong seams. :D I look forward to seeing another reincarnation of the Tova soon, hopefully. :D

  2. Let’s all pause for a moment of respect – my favourite shoes EVER broke last year and I’ve still not recovered…

    • I shall try :) and thank you, the pattern is really nice, and it’s not the pattern’s fault – I blame the swimming. Or maybe it was the handball that did it. Or shovelling tons of horse manure? ;)

  3. Well now you know EXACTLY where you need more width…Can you think of it as a very wearable muslin and make a nice new one?

    Also, I’d totally missed this pattern so you made me go buy it while still drinking my morning coffee. I shall use up some stash to make this top, any more gingham in your stash? That would be cute!

    • Haha, you should pay me for finding the ones you miss ;)

      I’m all out of gingham, but I do have some nice checkered light cotton … hmmmmm …. can’t wait to see your version!

  4. Pingback: Covered in autumn | Sil's Fab Knitblog

Leave a Reply

