Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing

Today, a copy of “Gerties New Book for Better Sewing” by Gretchen Hirsch was waiting for me on my doorstep when I came home. Okay, so actually I live in a lovely old house, with gilded mirrors and little sidetables in the hallway, so that’s where it was, on one of the tables.

Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing: A Modern Guide to Couture-style Sewing Using Basic Vintage Techniques*

To be perfectly honest, I had forgotten that I had preordered it until I got an email a few days ago, informing me it would soon be on it’s way, and btw, the price has dropped. Oh, I thought, nice!

It’s a lovely volume, and since I didn’t remember much, I was pleasantly surprised to find it includes a range of patterns.

I have only leafed through it quickly, so this is by no means a review of any kind, just a jumble of first impressions and thoughts.

While I turned the pages, which are split between a part about techniques, and a part that details sewing projects (all of them including several variations), I realized that I had gotten myself a book I don’t really want to make a single garment from. The coat, maybe …

Don’t get me wrong, the patterns look fabulous and I feel highly tempted to make a few of these patterns just for the learning and fun of it! It’s just that while I adore this kind of retro fashion on other people, I don’t really wear dresses. I don’t have an hourglass figure, and high waists are no-go with my shape.

That being said, I’m so far very much in love with the book, and I’m sure I will at least try out some, if not all, of the techniques and that I will learn a lot.

Maybe I’ll even make myself a dress. One never knows!

*Disclaimer: Amazon Associates Program link

8 thoughts on “Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing

    • It’s really sad, they’re so pretty, but I simply don’t have the figure for it. I might still make something, just to see how it actually looks – I don’t think I ever tried :D

      • That’s mega disappointing. Yeah, give it a go. I just made a toile for a vintagey dress. I don’t think I’ll wear it seriously but it’ll be good or dress ups!

Leave a Reply

