Silver Needles P45 – construction details

To tell you the truth, the initial issue with the sleeve cap had left me a tad apprehensive. If they got something like that so horribly wrong, how could I expect the finished jacket to be one I’d actually like to wear?

This made me take greater care in the following steps than I often do. I properly marked the pockets:

Look! I marked the pocket placement! With thread!

I basted the zip in before actually sewing it down:

Please also not my dynamic pose.

You might notice that contrary to the pocket markings and the pattern cover mine does not have breast pockets. That’s correct. I omitted them … I felt the look would be cleaner without, and I’m quite happy I did, as I really like the looks.

The back of the lining did have some weird ripples along the center seamline, which I am fairly certain were caused by my inability to cut it perfectly on grain. Thankfully, that didn’t happen with the outer. Contrary to what it might look like, the center back seam is not straight, but slightly curved, which really helps with a better fit.

No weird ripples along the center seam, phew!

This all looked good, I thought. It would have been good had I noticed at this point that the front didn’t align perfectly. Join me on Friday to hear how this gripping tale ends!

2 thoughts on “Silver Needles P45 – construction details

  1. I love the thread markings! So clever! and also that you basted in the zip! :D Such care must pay off! ;) Every time I see the fabric I love it more BTW! so nice!

Leave a Reply

