Silver Needles P45 – Lady’s Jacket: finished

This post was in the making for a while, mainly because my camera has been super uncooperative, and won’t give me any good photos at all :( In the interest of science (so to speak), though, I’ll give you what I have. Please do accept my apologies for the appalling quality of the shots – these are the best out of several dozens I took. I kid you not.

After all of the fiddling with the muslin, the final finish of the jacket went pretty smooth.

The arms fit a lot better:

P45 arm detail

The back turned out pretty good:

P45 back

But:

P45 front tension wrinkles

It’s alright as long as I keep my mitts out of the pockets, but as you can see, there’s something fundamentally wrong with the tension on the right front panel (left in the photo). I suspect that the lining is a tad too short (which would make sense, as this side of the jacket is also a teensy bit longer than the other side) and that causes those weird wrinkles.

Clearly the way forward is to take it apart and sew the lining back in, shortening the outer roughly an inch, and hope that will solve the issue.

Which is a bit painful, as this was my first hand-picked bias finished seam:

Hand picked bias hem finish

On the other hand, it also means that unpicking it will be a lot less painful :D

Overall, a good pattern with a few quirks – I still can’t get over the fact that it turned into a short-ish coat despite the fact that I cut the jacket length (according to the pattern). And the armscye/sleeve cap mismatch … but I learned a few things, and I totally came away with a wearable fall/spring jacket. A quick test run seems to indicate I still need a proper winter jacket, but that’s for another post :D

6 thoughts on “Silver Needles P45 – Lady’s Jacket: finished

  1. yay! love that hand picked hem! and the colour of the jacket is so nice and the fit turned out great too! you now have a jacket for 2 seasons at least! :D

  2. It looks nice! I guess you have to unpick that gorgeous hem and take it up to get around the short lining problem. That will hurt but it’s not that painful considering all the possibilities. Now you can look for another winter coat pattern – I love coats so I’m jealous. ;-)

    • Thank you :) yeah, true … now I just need to do it, lol. I’ve mentally succumbed, but my hands are not quite there yet …
      I might have a closer look at that Strenesse coat we’ve been talking about before. Somehow, that issue of Burda Style jumped into the shopping one day, and has since been sitting on my coffee table … must be a sign?

  3. Pingback: A few bits’n bobs | The Very Best Jumper

  4. Pingback: The birth of a scarf. With complications. | The Very Best Jumper

Leave a Reply

