A few observations

I’m nearly caught up to where I was before frogging it all.

Weirdness at the border
Weirdness at the border

Can you see how the lace panel cuts in and out of the garter border? That’s how it’s written up in the pattern, but I didn’t really like it, so I decided to “fix” the pattern. And please forgive the crappy shot, it was after midnight and I had to frog right then so I could cry myself to sleep after that and wouldn’t lose all of today fretting.

Let me show you what my thinking process looks like:

Notebook
Notebook

At the top left you can see my chart of the pattern according to the Newspaper.

Beneath that is the band from the yarn I’m using, in case I need/want to buy more at a later point – this way, I’ll always know where to find my reference sample (yes, that’s a braided sample right next to it).

Underneath my new, cleaned up chart. I made one further adjustment while knitting into the first lace panel, tho, and that was to take off one stitch at the end. That means what I knitted was 17 stitches garter stitch, 9 full repeats of the lace pattern, one repeat minus last stitch (which would have been the “groove” purl between the single repeats) and finally another 17 stitches in garter stitch.

I am much, much happier with what it looks like now – oh, I also changed from “knit 2 together” on both sides of a lace panel to “ssk” on the right side and “k2tog” on the left sides.

New lace panel
New lace panel

Two more things:

  1. The pattern calls for you to knit the first row into the back of the stitches. I had never heard or seen this before, but will from now on do it ALL THE TIME. Yes, it makes such a big difference, I had to shout that at you.
  2. Always slip the 1st stitch purl wise. It gives a much better finish, no matter what you intend to do with it in the end. The pattern describes a crochet lace stitch to finish this off, but somehow I imagine that being a hazard for little baby fingers, and lean towards an applied i-cord. Thankfully, I have some time to decide on that one.
Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

Leave a Reply

