R.I.P., Mohair Sweater

So, the thing I showed you yesterday as an example of faggoting? Well, it is with us no longer.

I had a bad feeling about this piece of work for a while, mostly because the yarn was such a drag to work with. It’s just no FUN if you have to fiddle around to align the different strands of your working yarn all the time 😦

Also, to be honest, I don’t like mohair. I bought it because the colour is lovely (it still is), and because it was cheap. Both are very good reasons to have a closer look at a yarn, but maybe they’re just not enough to actually shell out the dosh?

And like that wasn’t enough, it had fitting issues. Like being seriously too short. I don’t know what I was thinking (probably just wanted it to end …) when I bound off the front piece, however it was like 3 inches too short.

I tried to frog it, but due to the aforementioned issues with the bad spinning, it turned out to be impossible 😦 so in a hissy fit, I declared the mohair sweater a failure and binned it – something I hate to do. C’mon, I’m the girl who turns her old t-shirt into panties because she can’t let go if there’s even a shred of usable fabric left! However, sometimes you just got to admit defeat, take it on the chin and move on.

Onwards and upwards, fellow knitters!

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

Leave a Reply

