Look at these shinies!

Art Deco Bakelite Buttons
Art Deco Bakelite Buttons

These buttons I scored on ebay. They are made from bakelite, and look very art deco to me! Really chuffed!

Now, what should I make to put them on? Probably the 60ties cardigan from stitchcraft I’ve been toying with for quite a while … but be still, my beating heart! A little bit patience, as I have reached my WIP limit at 4.

Strictly speaking, I’ve set myself a 2 WIP limit, with a third as an exception. One knitting, one crochet, and if either one is particularly demanding, I’m allowed to have a “braindead for the achievement” on the side. Like that little pair of socks I whipped up over the course of one weekend.

How can you have so many WIPs, you just frogged the mohair jumper, I hear you ask. Well, see, not only did I frog the jumper, but of course replaced it immediately with The Real Simple Sweater I’ve been wanting to make for a while.

And of course His Majesty’s Blanket is not finished yet – although I’m making good progress, and am now leaning towards a victorian knitted lace edging – if you have opinions on that matter, I’d love to hear them. I’m a wee bit indecisive.

His Majestys Blanket 07. August
His Majestys Blanket 07. August

Then there are the lace socks, which I mistakenly thought were Waterfall socks, but it turned out they are not.

And last, but not least the Granny Square Project.

The Granny Square Project
The Granny Square Project

I’ll elaborate on both of those, the socks and the granny squares, on another day. Today, I just wanted to share my lovely buttons. Now I’ll wrap them up and store them with the other lovely buttons.

Happy Sunday, everybody!

Tiny little worlds (my flowerpot, in this case)
Tiny little worlds (my flowerpot, in this case)
Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

3 thoughts on “Look at these shinies!”

  1. Fabulous score! I have a few 1930s coat patterns that might look great with these buttons if the buttons aren’t too small. It’s hard to tell how big the buttons are from the picture.

Leave a Reply

