On my needles: Victorian inspired Shawlette

Shawlette
Shawlette

This is the little shawl I’ve been working on in the last few days. Yes, I know – I didn’t really need any more WIPs. But this yarn was so lovely, and it was calling out to me, and I was dying to knit something from “Victorian Lace Today” and … so I started.

I used “A handsome triangle” as a starting point, but added a purled wrong side row in to make the pattern easier to handle for me. Still practicing on the lace …

Now I’m adding a edging, which is given as “Mrs. Hope Vandyke’s”. It works great, and certainly adds a lacy and victorian feel to my shawlette. The only difficulty was working aound the corner, as the technique of doing a double-join every other stitch didn’t seem enough to carry me all the way around the corner. I added in some short rows, and that seems to have done the trick. Will see after blocking.

Shawlette with victorian edging
Shawlette with victorian edging

And like I jinxed it by starting on fall-appropriate items, this morning I woke up to the sound of rain … 😦

Rainy morning
Rainy morning
Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

Leave a Reply

