His Majesty’s Blanket is nearing completion, part one

His Majesty's Blanket nearing completion
His Majesty's Blanket nearing completion

It’s time for an update of how the blanket is doing. As you can see, it’s doing fine.

Since my last post about it, it has been inspected by the soon-to-be-mother, and she loves it.Phew.

Other than that, there isn’t a whole lot to say about it … the yarn still knits lovely, although I’m somewhat worried by the comments I’ve seen on Ravelry.

Sirdar Snuggly BabyBamboo
Sirdar Snuggly BabyBamboo

I’m using Sirdar Snuggly BabyBamboo, which is really soft to the touch and has a lovely shine to it. Reviews indicate it doesn’t wash so well, however – does anybody out there have any experience with it? At least I’d love to be able to warn my friend if it can’t go in the washing machine (which seems to be the general gist of what I’m reading).

Despite those worries, the detail is coming out nicely on the blanket, and I’m now wrecking my head about an edging. Since it has got a rather wide garter stitch, stockinette based lace seems out of the question. So it should be either an applied icord, methinks, or maybe some garter-based edging – which I’ve not seen a lot of, and I’d love to get some pointers to your favourite edgings!

His Majesty's Blanket - Close up
His Majesty's Blanket - Close up
Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

2 thoughts on “His Majesty’s Blanket is nearing completion, part one”

Leave a Reply

