Braided join and the Queen Anne Cardigan

I have learned a new technique: the braided join, and now I don’t know how I ever managed without it.

Find the join
Find the join

The last few weeks have seen a vast improvement in my knitting, and I’m so glad I found the community of lovely knitters on G+ as well as deciding to finally jump into Ravelry and actually use it to communicate rather than peek and admire silently from my little corner.

After the revelation of proper lace needles came the beading (which, of course, I’m now slightly obsessed with, so expect another WIP to be presented here shortly), and now the braided join.

Please check out this tutorial by lovely Lucy, and don’t forget to say thank you, as this will change your life. Trust me.

It’s a method to join ends anywhere in the project, even in the middle of a lace row (yessir!), without either having to weave the ends in or worry about knots. It’s totally invisible.

Braided Join
Braided Join

My first opportunity to try it out (as the Susanna IC Mystery KAL is sitting in the middle of my dining table, looking good and waiting for the next clue) came as I cast on for a Queen Anne Cardi:

Queen Anne Cardi by Christina Wall
Queen Anne Cardi by Christina Wall

It’s knit top down until it’s roughly bolero-shaped, then the lace collar is knit on in the round. I might modify the sleeves a bit, but the body looks exactly right to me, and it’s very much like a cardigan I loved very much and wore to death and have been planning to replicate for ages. I’m very much looking forward to this one!

Mine, so far, doesn’t look quite as exciting yet:

Koko's Queen Anne's Cardigan
Koko's Queen Anne's Cardigan
Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

Leave a Reply

