Of an Unremarkable Sweater

You have heard about the Unremarkable Sweater before.

Unremarkable Sweater
Unremarkable Sweater

I mentioned it here and there … but never in any much detail, mostly because it’s utterly unremarkable (yeah, the name was a bit of a give away there … ).

It’s a simple v-neck thing in stockinette, made with a somewhat interesting looking viscose yarn. It’s gray. I finished knitting ages ago, and I even managed to weave in the ends pretty shortly after. Then it sat on my dining table. And sat there. And sat a bit longer.

Finally, my friend E. came over. She’s expressed an interest in learning to knit, so I offered to tutor her. While she struggled through her first rows of garter stitch in many, many years, she asked if I could o a little show and tell of my WIPs.

Proudly, I showed her the Bella Botanica I had started (and frogged in the meantime), the Fickle-Zen KAL, the Sadly No Pirates Socks. Even some granny square blanket, and the 2nd try on my slippers.

She, however, eagle-eyed, had spotted the huge gray pile on the dining tabble. “What is that,” she asked.

So I showed her the Unremarkable Sweater, and she looked at me with this expression she’s really good at (it basically goes “you are totally nuts, and I really don’t understand you, but I love you still”) and then asked why I hadn’t put it together.

I mumbled something about my dislike of weaving in ends (the alert reader will have noticed that I said I had done that already. Yup, I lied to E.) and seaming by hand (the part about me disliking both of these activities is true, though!). She told me no way could she ever bare having something mostly finished sit idly for weeks. I lectured her about how for me it’s all about the making, not the wearing, but knew she was right.

So today, I finally finished putting it together. It required some creative sewing, and for a bit I thought it would turn out totally unwearable and hey, hadn’t I known it??

It is wearable, but of course, it’s too short. I really don’t know why I keep thinking that 5cm knitted less will still add up to long enough. But this time, I have learned my lesson.

Unremarkable Sweater full
Unremarkable Sweater full

Does this happen to you, too? Do you have this one mistake you make over and over again, even though it’s totally unnecessary?

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

2 thoughts on “Of an Unremarkable Sweater”

  1. I think I’m pretty good as far as not having one mistake I always make. Although I guess with hats I tend to make them too short. Usually sweaters and such I can keep the length right but hats I always think they’re starting to look too big so I start the decreasing early and then they end up too small. Top down hats work well for me for that exact reason, I can make it the right size because I already have the crown part done.

Leave a Reply

