Of worthy investments

This is my newest toy, and boy, am I in love:

Yarn swift
Yarn swift

I’m sure for many of you, this is old news, but I have never owned a swift before.

Which means that I have quite a few lovely skeins in my stash, which occasionally I’ll ogle and think something along the lines of “you look just perfect for project X/Y/Z”, then I’d sigh and return to my not-quite-so-nice-but-already-balled yarns, and mumble to myself “really? why does all the NICE yarn have to come to in skeins, not balls??”

Occasionally, I’d recruit my friend E. to help me … 1200m of fine lace are really time consuming to wind up if you’re balancing the hank over you knees. It’s not good for your back. Or your nerves, for that matter … there is, unfortunately, only so much yarn winding help you can expect of non-knitter friends, though.

I mean, seriously, I get it – the whole artisan thing. The home-made feeling. The  indie  dyer need for the yarn in skeins to be able to be dyed. Still, I wouldn’t mind if the NICE yarns also came pre-balled. Just sayin’ …

Enter stage left: the yarn swift! Such a simple yet wonderful construction. Who would have thought that winding up a ball of yarn could be so quick and easy?

If you, like me, love to buy yarns from indie dyers, you totally should consider to shell out for this clever item. (Hint: christmas is close … )

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

Leave a Reply

