Of Organization and Other Things

Let me show you a picture of my dinner table:

dinner table
dinner table

Yeah, that’s right, that’s my dinner table, not my craft room table (take note of the fruit bowl). I don’t have a dedicated space for my crafting, I don’t own a lot of furniture, so the dinner table is where things tend to pile up. Unhandled bills. Magazines waiting to be read. It’s the semi-permanent living space for my sewing machine (which lives next to it on the floor if the dinner table is to be used for it’s originally designated purpose, dining). And then there are the Other Things … measuring tape. Scissors. Pattern parts. And, of course, knitting projects.

Needless to say, this situation is sub-optimal. For a while, I have occasionally given a thought or two to how to reclaim this space for social activity, but I actually like my sparsely furnished appartment. Space is at a premium here in Brighton, and I like to have some room so I can move around without bumping into things.

Enter Knit Purl Gurl and her sew-along for a project bag. Sewing things is something I enjoy doing. Sewing bags is something I haven’t done much of (I have a mishap project somewhere I’m still not sure of …). I need to get things off my table, which implies they need to go into … somewhere. Why not a project bag? I’m sold.

Supplies
Supplies

A trip to Fabricland, and roughly £10 later, I have ample supplies for two bags. Our charming lead for the sew-along has two sick children at home, alas, so the start is a bit delayed. Since I have some sewing experience, and I really wanted that stuff off the table, I decided to start on my own.

The tutorial is fairly clear, and despite some confusion on my side (do I need to cut the length of fabric in half? Turns out, no. Are the edge seams here … or more like there? More there in my next bag.), it went well overall, and about an hour and a half later I’m the proud owner of a project bag:

project bag
project bag

I’m rather pleased with it, overall … it’s a bit too cubic, so next time the seams that make it so will be a bit smaller, but other than that, it’s exactly what I needed.

It’s neat, pretty and can go into any old corner. Or the wardrobe. Or … well, with me, even! Yay!

project bag inside
project bag inside

Result!

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

2 thoughts on “Of Organization and Other Things”

  1. I am also participating in the sew along. I jave gone ahead also, but not as far as you. I’ve stopped at sewing the fabric for the handle together. I had to stop because A) I have never sewn before and B) I don’t have muh free time these days.

    1. The latter is exactly why I went ahead – have to make use of the free time while I have it! I’m sure you’ll do fine, it’s really quite simple, and the result is great – I’m a bit in love with these bags and tempted to make many more as christmas presents 😀

Leave a Reply

