Triangle of Trifles (not truffles, though I assure you I had some during the holidays)

To get this out of the way: yes, there was chocolate.

Champagne truffles
Champagne truffles

There also was knitting.

My knitting has always been a bit … erratic, I think. By that I mean not only on a very basic level. I was obsessed for a couple of years when I was ~12, then knit on and off for the next 10 years, then I stopped knitting altogether.
It needed a quite stressful day job (one which I love dearly, no mistakes made) to get me back to the needles. There are few things as relaxing as knitting, while the TV blares in the background – I am utterly hopeless “just watching the telly”. Your worst nightmare, really – I get up about every 5 mins, because I get bored by what I see and my mind wanders, and when that happens, sooner or later (sooner, more often) my body follows suit.
Anyhoo, be that as it may, my knitting is erratic on another level. I’ve never been very good at following patterns to the t. There’s always something (however tiny it might be) I want different. Or made easier. Or I mostly have the yarn, but not quite … you get the gist.

Triangle of Trifles 1
Triangle of Trifles 1

Not surprisingly, the patterns I like most are the ones which give me clear directions, to make me understand the construction of the pattern, and then ideally some information how to alter certain aspects.

I’m not sure I’m able to emulate that in my pattern writing yet, but it’s definitely where I want to go. I want to write patterns that empower knitters to execute a design idea but also make it their own, and be able to bend it to fit their stash.

This pattern, the Triangle of Trifles, is a shawl I designed when my obsession with triangles started, and I just wanted to play around with the classic shape a bit and see how different textures and colours work.

It’s ideal to use up those lace leftovers that tend to collect dust as there are very few lace-weight projects with colourwork out there.

Triangle of Trifles 2
Triangle of Trifles 2

You can purchase it on Craftsy or on Ravelry.

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

Leave a Reply

