Stormy weathers

April showers
April showers

It’s April, and it feels like April. The weather is temperamental, and so is life.

Not unusual in my job, there was a lull after we launched the first version of the thing I’m working on (sorry, no can do details). We have worked really hard in the couple of weeks up to the launch, and during launch night (I started work at midnight, and didn’t leave until 2.30pm the next day). Then we watched in awe, and watched some more, and some more.
Soon work will kick back up, but right now it’s a bit slow. Which leaves me slightly unbalanced – I’m spending my usual time in the office, but I’m not getting a lot done, because there isn’t a lot that needs to be done.

And for some reason, that translates to my knitting.

I have a sweater out of Custom Knits: 25 Projects (Plus Variations) and Techniques for Customizing to Fit Your Style and Your Body on the needles, which I’ve been working on for ages, and it’s not growing.

A knitted and then felted bag was finished, but turned out a lot smaller than I was hoping for. Not too small to use, just … you know, not what I had in mind.

I find these days that I’m very unforgiving when things don’t turn out the way I wanted them to be. Knitted things, that is. It just doesn’t feel very satisfactory to spend hours making something that I don’t love. Or which doesn’t fit me.

These socks fit like a glove, and I’m super happy they do, because they’ve been made following my new spreadsheet. Now I only need to test it a couple of more times with different gauge, but I’m hopeful I’ll finally be able to produce socks that actually snuggle up the foot just like I want them to.

Snug sock
Snug sock

 

 

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

2 thoughts on “Stormy weathers”

    1. Thank you – I’m so happy the spreadsheet seems to work out!
      Yeah, the post-project phase is always a bit weird, and I’m quite ready for it to morph into the before-project now. It is good to know that I’m not the only one, tho 🙂

Leave a Reply

