Knitting heroes

Twice a day, I hear you gasp? Yes, my dear readers, I have another blog post for today.

Eskimimi’s knitting and crochet blog week is in full swing, and even though I missed the first two days, I want to share a tidbit of what inspires me.

My knitting hero is not one particular person, it’s an idea. That’s just how I roll – if you’re familiar with personality typing, I’m an INTJ, and we are a wild bunch. Always on the roll to learn ALL THERE IS TO LEARN about any given topic. And not just for learning’s sake, we want to apply it. Keep what’s working, forget what we find doesn’t meet our needs.

So when last year I saw this photo, it struck a chord in me:

Source

In the 19th century, Shetland lace was highly sought after, and according to some sources, pretty much everybody knit any minute they had their hands free. Including on their way to and from work.

I cannot even imagine walking miles and miles, with a heavy basket full of peat on my back, and knitting an intricate lace or maybe fair isle motif. This is what I call impressive. This is why I am learning Shetland lace patterns, and hope to rustle up the courage to tackle fair isle one day, too. To honor these people, who made such beautiful things out of sheer necessity.

3KCBWDAY3

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

2 thoughts on “Knitting heroes”

  1. What a great inspiration! It does seem overwhelming to think of – I love that you are using it to motivate you to learn Shetland lace. And have no fear of fair isle – I’m sure you can do it.

    1. Thank you 🙂
      Isn’t it amazing what these people did? And to think that they didn’t even get to keep their precious products, but had to sell them off to the well-to-do folks in the big cities …
      Fair isle is really calling to me, and especially now, that I have discovered my love for some of the english yarns, I feel like I should just jump in the deep end, so to speak. Well, maybe not a full sweater … something smaller … a water bottle cozy, maybe?

Leave a Reply

