A knitter for all seasons

This “blog about a given topic” is beginning to grow on me. That might just be because I like the topic for the two days I’ve managed to actually participate.

Yesterday’s “Knitting heroes” gave me the opportunity to show you a photo I love dearly, and wax a bit about the historical necessity that spurred what I consider some of the most beautiful patterns in the knitting world.

Today’s post will investigate the question of seasonality in my knitting – which is quite fitting, as I actually thought about this quite a bit of late.

Let me circle back a few weeks, when I was asked if I was willing to move to Los Angeles for my job. Whoa! Hollywood (well, the studio is in North-Hollywood, but hey, close enough!), I’m coming. Then economy struck again, the role wasn’t approved, and I’m not going 😦 Such is life, I guess.

Thinking about this, however, also made me wonder what would I knit? Over here in the UK, it’s fairly easy to find a use for some woolen garments year round, you might want to shuffle the density and thickness of the fabric a bit, but there is a very real need of a jumper in July, and it’s never wrong to have a shawl handy you can wrap around yourself when the wind picks up or the rain’s falling.

And then there’s cotton, of course. You can never go wrong with cotton, it’s a pleasure to wear, even in hotter temperatures. There are a million of pretty tank and other tops out there one could knit, and a little blouse in an airy lace pattern would be just brilliant in cotton – like the lacy blouse out of A Handknit Romance.  It’s in my queue, kinda, actually 😉

There will be more about cotton tomorrow, as it happens … stay tuned!

And just because I can’t have a post with no photos at all, and these guys love warm, too, here’s a photo of the my first chili harvest of the year (I grow them on my windowsill):

Chilies!

3KCBWDAY4 links to the Google search list for the other posts from today.

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

Leave a Reply

