Cotton socks, sort of

I probably mentioned before that I almost always have a pair of socks on the needles.

This week, it’s cotton socks – well, the yarn has ~40% of cotton, mixed with wool and nylon (for durability, I believe).

Cotton socks 1
Cotton socks 1

Initially, I had a more complex slip stitch pattern in mind, but then I realized that the yarn is really self-striping, not variegated as I thought, and left it at that.

Cotton socks 2
Cotton socks 2

So now they got a simple 3by3 ribbing, the usual heel flap, and are measured with the shiny new spreadsheet, which still holds up.

There is a wee bit of an error in the formula for placing the heel, but that’ll be ironed out by the next sock, I’m confident.

Cotton socks 3
Cotton socks 3

One thing that bothers me, tho – I can’t seem to find pretty cotton sock yarn. Does anybody have suggestions? I’d be most thrilled to hear them!

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

2 thoughts on “Cotton socks, sort of”

Leave a Reply

