Minor outbreak of startitis

I blame the weather.
For what seems like forever (probably 3 weeks) it’s been raining. And raining. And then, some more rain. Every form of rain – we’ve had it. Light drizzle. Hard downpour. Steady dripping. Whipping winds and sideways rain. And a few others.
Temperatures are erratic, but generally lower than you’d wish for this time of year. “Don’t put the tomatoes out quite yet” low.
So, instead of being all enthused by my summer knitting of cotton socks and a cotton sweater (not blogged yet), I desire woolly comfort.

Like a sock yarn scrap blanket:

There is something particularly satisfying about using up scraps and remnants, don’t you find? There’s also something really hard to resist – the urge to buy new sock yarn to finish faster. I have so far been good, but I did break two balls of sock yarn that were actually destined to become socks. But that’s alright, I didn’t like either for socks. I also repurposed two balls of sock yarn I knew I wouldn’t like as socks (those were bought very early on in my knitting journey).

And a wool cardigan:

Yes, it’s my favorite yarn company again. And it’ll be a very simple raglan cardi, with pockets! There will be more about the construction of this baby, but for now suffice it to say that I’m following the methods of “Custom knits” by Wendy Bernard.

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

3 thoughts on “Minor outbreak of startitis”

  1. Log cabin blankets are fun to knit. I haven’t made one for a while, but maybe it’s time I started a new one. I’m kind of inspired to, after seeing this post. 🙂 Happy knitting!

Leave a Reply

