New on the needles: yet another triangle garter shawl.

This yarn has been in my stash for a while. It was one of the first “nice” yarns I ordered for myself, it was shipped all the way from the U.S., got stuck in customs and is just gorgeous.

PSFA DeLite Silky Cashmere

So it was a bit of shock to me that, despite the fact that I love it and really, really want to us it, I found it near impossible to find the matching project.

I tried Diantha from SusannaIC. Didn’t like it. I tried The Forever Shawl – nope. There were a couple of other things I tried, and forgot. Nothing seemed to work.

Until I decided to go back to the basics, so to speak.

I pulled out Jane Sowerby’s “Victorian Lace Today”, and after some deliberation settled for a quite simple garter stitch triangle, the “Shoulder Shawl in Syrian pattern”.

Syrian pattern

What can I say? It works really well! I’m finally happy, and hope to make some good progress during this week.

I am really liking how the yarn-overs at the start of each row provide loops for the knit-on border that’s to follow later (and will cover my vow for the “real” lace I made earlier this year).

Loopy border

You haven’t seen the give-away to celebrate my 100th post? Check this out!

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

Leave a Reply

