Not knitting: Wiksten Tova shirt

If you have followed my blog for a little while, you know that I occasionally sew, too.

Last weekend I wanted to finally tackle my current grand project – a new pair of Jeans. The last attempt (which, to be fair, was only a muslin made from an old bedsheet) didn’t work out too well. I really should know by now that it’s always a size down in sewing patterns, not up … so this is two sizes too big.

Jeans muslin front

And while this is probably the technically best pair of trousers I’ve made so far, doubt settled in. Is this really the pattern I want? Isn’t it a bit high-waisted for my waist-less midriff?

Jeans muslin back

At that point in time, I saw the Jalie Jeans pattern mentioned first, in Amy’s fab sewing blog “Sew well”.

So now I have to cut out a new pattern, and start over. That was too much for me to stomach last week, so instead I made this:

Wiksten Tova

I generally like the pattern, and will make it again, but with a few tiny changes.

As you can see, there’s not a lot in terms of gather under the inset, I’d like that a bit more ruffly. And the arms were a bit tight for me, so I’ll lower the scythes about an inch.

I’m also not too convinced by the the gaping neck … any suggestions? Maybe it’s just the fabric, and I should have put some interfacing (which the pattern doesn’t call for) on the plackets?

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

6 thoughts on “Not knitting: Wiksten Tova shirt”

  1. I love the stripes on those jeans. What a shame that they dont fit. Can you alter them at all? I have yet to attempt a pair of trousers, let alone jeans. I think you did a fabulous job all the same. With regs the shirt I have come to learn that some patterns don’t suggest things like interfacing or lining etc so we have to use our own judgement… which comes with experience I guess. I long for the day when I’m happy with every aspect of a garment… seems a long way off for me!

    1. Thank you!
      Yeah, it’s sad they don’t fit, but I’ll just book it as experience 🙂 They’re just too huge to be altered, I’m afraid.
      The blouse turned out to be quite wearable as it is – I just christened it on a trip to Ibiza, and didn’t want to take it off! Even my mother liked it, and that’s saying something as she’s not the biggest fan of my style, lol.
      It’s a great feeling to be able to make your own clothes, and wear them proudly – which is what we should do, imperfections or not. You’ll get better, and you’ll get more confident about your makes. Can you get perfect? Probably, but I’m certainly not there yet 😀

  2. I wonder if you’d be able to cut the smaller sized pattern pieces from that striped fabric. It is awfully cool. Otherwise, I hope the Jalie pattern works for you. I’ve loved it on everyone I’ve seen it on.

    1. I have more of that striped fabric, but to be fair it’s been used as a bedsheet for a looooooong time and is in a bit of a state (which you can’t really see in the photo), so I’m fairly okay with the muslin fail.
      Hopefully we’ll find out if the Jalie pattern fits better today – I’ll surely update here how it goes 🙂 Really looking forward to trying it, your Jeans all look fab.

      1. Hahaha! I hadn’t realized it was a bed sheet! I thought it was striped denim. Okay, no worries then. On to the Jalie pattern!

Leave a Reply

