Not knitting: The Jalie Jeans, Part One

So, I made myself a pair of Jeans.

This time, I used the Jalie pattern Amy has introduced me to here. In a fit of madness, I decided to use the fashion fabric right away, and not make another bed sheet toile. Now, truth be told, I had three variations of the fashion fabric: black corduroy, which I suspect I don’t have enough of; dark blue denim; pink corduroy.

Not wanting to cut into the denim (bought at the exorbitant price of £4.49 at FabricLand), the choice was between pink and black corduroy.

Now, I used to own a light grey corduroy jeans I loved to bits. Literally, I’m afraid, so it had to go a few months back. That’s when I first thought about making my own, and coincidentally also when I first heard about the Jean-ius class on Craftsy.

More on that later, tho.

I decided to go with pink, because, so I argued to myself, a pink pair of Jeans isn’t really going to make it into my everyday wear, so if I screw it up, it won’t matter so much.

Enter stage left: pink corduroy jeans.

It is rather awkward to get a good shot of your own bum, I learned. But more to the point: I didn’t screw them up. They are pretty much perfect. And consequently, I lived in them for a week. My initial feeling these won’t make it into everyday wear? Wrong.

They don’t have dragons in the pockets (I wished, tho!), but cute gingham. Another lesson? Part of the fun of making your own jeans is the way you can toy with the details. Cute pocket lining. Topstitching. Buttons. And so on …

But I digress. Probably to procrastinate what I have to do. So, here it is: the rear view.

Rear view

You can see the excess fabric in my lower back. That’s exactly the kind of issue I have with each and every single store bought jeans. And now I know I can fix it (or at least make it better – I’ve since made another pair, which I’ll tell you about in another post, and removed most of it. )

So exciting!

A few details:

Cute gingham pockets

And the front fly, which I’m pretty happy with:

Front Fly

All in all, I’d call this a success!

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

15 thoughts on “Not knitting: The Jalie Jeans, Part One”

  1. Very nice make! I too have ths pattern…but held off cos I really have quite enough pairs of denim jeans….but your corduroy versions have got me scheming…

    1. I actually needed a denim version, but wanted to make the pattern first something else – a wearable muslin, if you will.
      It does work really well in corduroy, though, and now I’m kinda fantasizing about a nice goblin/jaquard version … which would probably look silly.

      1. Hm, maybe I really should … I once had a jacket made from some curtain fabric that was very medieval in appearance … iirc, a picnic scene with a few hunters and beast lurking in the woods. It worked surprisingly well on the back of the jacket, actually.
        I think thrift store hunting has just gone back up on the list of weekend activities.

  2. Hooray for a nice fitting pair of jeans! I’m glad this pattern worked out for you. And, I think pink cords are both fun and versatile. Can’t wait to see your next version.

    1. Thank you – I’m still so happy that I decided to buy it, as it fits well out of the box! And without your blog I’d never have known about it – gotta love the blogosphere!
      Next version is dark blue denim with purple seams … will probably blog about them next week.

Leave a Reply

