Elwing Calafalas – The end is nigh

Are you following the football (soccer, for you lovely people on the other side of the big pond) European championship?

Where I grew up, watching football is so much inherent culture that you literally suck it up like the local dialect, the layout of your home town, the colour of the sky at night. It’s a part of what people are in the Ruhrgebiet, and it’s not uncommon for team rivalry to split down the middle of families, friends groups and even whole cities.

I remember the whole family gathered around the TV, usually at my grandma’s place because she had the first color TV (yes, I’m that old … ) in our family. We’d sit and watch and discuss and occasionally fight and generally have what’s called a good a time.

So no wonder I still like to watch as much of these tournaments as possible, even though I’ve never really gotten into the UK premier league football. Where I come from, they say “you don’t pick your team, your team picks you”, and it’s true. My team is the MSV Duisburg, and that’s never going to change. But I digress.

Added bonus when you’re a knitter? Yes, plenty of TV time for me means plenty of knitting time 😀

Elwing Calafalas body

Which in turn means Elwing has grown a bit, the body is done except for edgings, and I’m on the arms.

The pockets have the same picot edging  as the bottom, as will the sleeves, front plackets and neck.

Elwing Calafalas edging

So far, I really like how this turned out, and can’t wait to have it finished. Partly because The Great British Summer is a really dismal affair this year. Rain. Storms. More rain. All around the quicksilver mark of 15C, give or take a few. Brrr.

Elwing Calafalas pocket with edging
Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

Leave a Reply

