When you’re hit by (inspirational) lightning, cast on.

It’s not like I didn’t have anything on the needles. There’s Elwin Calafalas, a triangle shawl and a pair of socks. Not to speak of the cabin log blanket. There’s even a crochet project sitting patiently in a corner. Oh, and a cotton sweater, too …

Cotton Sweater

After looking at all my projects rather miserably, I realized I did’t want to knit any of them. What I wanted to make was … something different. Maybe a shawl in a fingering weight, so it’d knit up quickly and could be used very soon? (Yes, you guessed it … it was raining outside.)

So some yarn was grabbed, I had a vague idea for something two colored and cast on. I used the same green lambswool and Aade Long yarn as in this shawl. Well, while the colours really work well together, what I really want is a black shawl. I don’t know why I don’t cast one on, I even have some really lovely Wollmeise sock yarn in black.Does this ever happen to you? Knowing exactly what you want/need, but somehow that doesn’t seem to be what ends up on your needles?

Too pink. Really.

Since I wasn’t feeling the shawl, I ripped it. While doing so, I considered ripping a lazy-kate-type shawl that had used up most of the Aade Long (which I eventually did. Well, mostly, some’s still waiting …) earlier this year. And then lightning struck.

These two yarns would be *perfect* for a light, striped cardigan with a boat neck. I mean, like, perfect.

Like, perfect

I’m now about a hand’s width underneath the arms, in a top down raglan construction, and striping the cardigan with added texture.

And what can I tell you? I’m loving it.

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

6 thoughts on “When you’re hit by (inspirational) lightning, cast on.”

  1. To answer your question, yes it does! I think I get distracted too easily, or I want the thing that i really need to be too perfect so the pressure to make it is too much. 😛
    I love reading about your thought process here and am glad you came up with something perfect!

    1. Thank you 🙂
      I’m glad to hear I’m on the only one … lol.
      You’re probably right, too, a lot of it is due to getting distracted by “oh, look, shiny!” yarn, or new patterns, or a technique I’ve discovered and now obviously need to use on ALL.THE.THINGS.

    1. Thank you!
      I’m mostly winging it. This is the 3rd top-down raglan sweater/cardi thing I’ve made, and I feel now comfortable enough to just plunge in with an idea without excessive planning.
      I am taking notes, tho, so I can go back later and repeat the process (at least in parts).

  2. Those are indeed lovely yarns together. It may not be what you started out to make but it seems to have created a lovely sweater. Happy knitting.

    1. Thank you 🙂
      Yeah, I didn’t really intend to end up with yet another sweater on my needles, but I do love it!
      It also works up real quick, since it’s on 4.5mm needles, so I ‘m hoping this might be the first sweater in my life I finish in a week (okay, let’s say two … lol).

Leave a Reply

