And the bland played on …

I promised you historical patterns last week.

Truth is, I haven’t done as much with them as I’d hoped I would, because the Caterpillar Cardigan insisted to be born. Oh, well. Since I’m still utterly in love with this project, I’m down with that.

But I have made a commitment, and so I’ll tell you at least about the pattern, if not about me doing something with it.

It was probably the lovely Cation who acquainted me with this project, because she made a most impressive blouse and blogged about it. The project I’m talking about is the VPLL1912Project:

With the upcoming 100-year anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic, there seems no better time to be motivated to tackle one of the Vintage Pattern Lending Library’s archives largest projects.   The scanning and digitizing of the patterns and magazines of La Mode Illustree – once France’s foremost publication of fashion of the era.

Now, when I started this blog, I really thought I’d be knitting vintage patterns (which, urm, yeah, didn’t really work so well … I did make one, tho!). Somehow, however, the things on my needles have drifted towards vintage inspired self designed items, and I enjoy that too much to fret about it.

So I was thrilled to find another outlet for my love of all things old, and even from an era I adore for it’s style. Sign me up, Scotty!

Last week I received my first pattern – oh, the excitement! I chose to go with a blouse, too, but a slightly simpler one:

I chose it partly because it seems a little bit less daunting than other projects on the page. But mostly because I’ve been wanting to make a blouse with some pin-tucking for quite a while now, and since this pattern in all likelyhood will need some serious grading to make it fit onto my very much not-1912 frame (waistless, remember?) I’ll get to do a full muslin, hence plenty of opportunity to practice. Yeah, I’m smart like that 😀

However, speaking of waistless. Looking at photos from the era, and the cut of the blouse, I realized I should probably make a corset, too.

Now, the whole corset thing … is probably best left for another post! (Because I have OPINIONS on corsets … do you have them, too?)

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

1 thought on “And the bland played on …”

  1. How exciting! I hope you will blog about the muslin version too! I am still waiting for my membership but when I get it want to make a Ladies wrap! 🙂
    And corsets … I love the look of them, I even owned 2 at one point. Both worn to my proms. One was red with black lace, the other green velvet with lace trimmings. But wearing them was not fun. It fitted with my gothic phase. So I would need to build up a new relationship with corsets. Look forward to hearing your thoughts on them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

