Oh my exciting life!

I do apologize for the blurry photo from this morning – that’s my knee, in a me-made pair of trousers, on the train.

Today I had to go to London for an appointment, and since it was rather short notice, everything that could possibly go wrong did indeed go wrong.

The ticket was infuriatingly expensive (£49.30, if you must know, for a return including tube). I had to be at my appointment at 9am, which means I had to travel through London in the midst of morning traffic, and as my luck would have it, today was the day where they closed the tube for a good 40 minutes because it was overcrowded. Maybe it’s just me, but I really wonder how that’s going to turn out when the Olympics have started – a time during which I’ll stay well away from London, thank you very much.*

So, with the tube closed, I grabbed a taxi. If you can call it “grab” if you line up for it for more than half an hour. Needless to say, the extra 20 minutes I had planned as a buffer in case it’s busy (ha!) proved nowhere near sufficient, and I arrived at my appointment a good 30 minutes late.Well, at least my taxi had taken me past Buckingham Palace, which I haven’t seen really since I was about 8, and the parade grounds, where some impressive guys in impressive helmets were practising marching around and turning corners sharply. Which my taxi driver didn’t need any practice for – I swear I heard the swish of a trouser once or twice on our way, so closely did he cut it. Nobody died, tho, which I’m very happy about.

Skateboard graveyard at Hungerford Bridge

After the business was done, I met with a lovely friend of mine, and because it wasn’t raining (insert gasp here), we decided to skip on the planned trip to the V&A and just stroll around a bit on the Southbank. We even contemplated a go in the London Eye, but I for one had had enough of queues today. Sorry, Steph! Seeing the prices now, I’m not sure I’d have been willing to cough it up after the train ticket, anyways 😀

And just so you’re not left with one measly, greasly photo today – I couldn’t resist swinging by fabricland on my way home, and snatched up some lovely light cotton shirting, which is going to be a blouse of some sort. My wardrobe is sadly lacking in upper garments.

And a sneak peek of a few buttons I shared with the lovely Kim-ing, so I suspect you might see them make an appearance over there, too 😀 Which is fine, as they’re really pretty buttons.

And next time, I hope there’ll be some actual knitting again. Or sewing. Or at least pattern drafting. So that I can tell you more about something I’ve done, as opposed to rambling on about things I didn’t do 😀

*A quick google search indicates it might actually have been a fire alarm in South Kensington which caused the delayed trains and hence the crowd building up.

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

2 thoughts on “Oh my exciting life!”

  1. oh no! rubbish about london tubes! And I am so staying clear of the underground during olympics!
    Yay, buttons!!! And I love that fabric! Soooo pretty! 🙂 Cant wait to see the blouse!

Leave a Reply

