Happy Birthday to “The Very Best Jumper”

I was convinced that my baby was born in July 2011, but alas, my brain’s a sieve and all that and I just missed my blog’s first birthday. Happy belated Birthday, dear blog.

Traditionally, an anniversary is a good opportunity to look back and take stock, but I’ll go a slightly different route.

My friend over at Kim-ing told me recently that she had been wondering why the blog was called The Very Best Jumper, and it dawned on me that I never explained it.

When I started blogging, I had just discovered the Trove – a wonderful online newspaper archive with a stunning multitude of freely available vintage patterns (and loads of other tidbits of vintage life – if you’re just a teensy bit interested, check it out, it really is a treasure trove!).

My intention at that point was to knit and document vintage patterns from all kinds of sources. I wanted to focus on the 1920s, as that is the era I feel most drawn to when talking vintage. Now it’s not too easy to find knitting pattern from that time, and naturally I was delighted when I discovered the Trove.

And guess what I found? A super cute jumper pattern from 1921, called – you guessed it – The very best jumper!

The Very Best Jumper

And that was it, really. My blog had a name, I had a project (which, I have to admit, I still haven’t knit!) and now you know how it all came about.

If you’d like to see the full pdf, I have uploaded it to the patterns page 🙂 And if any of you are inclined to knit it, I’d love some partners in crime and do a little KAL – please leave a comment if there’s any interest in such a crazy untertaking!

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to “The Very Best Jumper””

  1. Happy Belated Blog Birthday! That is such a nice story! Thanks for sharing! 😀 Love the old pattern too! Need to invest in some knitting needles!

  2. Happy anniversary! I do hope you get to make the VERY best jumper (that is a very Martha Stewart phrase if you know her in the UK – she declares her favorite things as THE VERY BEST —-).

  3. Happy blog birthday, then! They grow up so fast… 🙂
    Thanks for linking to the Trove – I hadn’t heard about that before and will go and waste some time there now.

    1. Thank you 🙂 and they do!
      The trove is brilliant … it can take a bit to find what you’re looking for, but if you narrow your search down (or, alternatively, try different search words or spelling) you can find amazing things!

Leave a Reply

