Seamless pledge, or how the cucumber gets on the sandwich

You might remember the time when everybody and their grandma seemed to discuss sewing “cake or icing”, triggered by this post by the lovely Tasia of Sewaholic. Of course, I had to share my view of things, and the insight for me was that I’m not very interested in icing. Which, funny enough, is also true for actual cake … I like my sugar fix, but icing just doesn’t do it for me. (With the exception of the Devil’s food cupcakes, peanutbutter version, from Angel Food Bakery – I could just spoon a bucket full of that stuff straight into my foodhole.)

Angel Food Bakery
Noms! Source: Angel Food Bakery

But I digress. When I look back at my makes of the last few months, with an eye towards which items got the most wear, it’s clear that my initial assessment was spot on. I wear my two Jalie jeans in heavy rotation – the blue denim one a bit more, simply because it’s easier to pair with the rest of my wardrobe. The first one, made of a dusky pink corduroy, does see a fair amount of use, too, tho.

I wear some of the tops I made, but not all – of the three Sorbettos I made, I wear one fairly regularly, the other two are sadly neglected. That’s partly due to fitting issues (the bust darts are pointing straight at … well, you get the gist, and somehow I never could be bothered to fix the pattern), and partly the fact that I’m living in the U.K. I’m of the shivery kind, which means long sleeve tees are pretty much a staple for me.

This is the kind of tee I like …
For source, please click on the picture

Now, I do also knit, and while this is GREAT for cardigans, it doesn’t solve the problem. My long sleeve tees are from H&M (four black ones, which are in a sorry state due to being worn more or less constantly for well over 6 years now), and Primark. Neither of them has cost me more than £10, and it’s just so bloody convenient to walk in, grab a handful of them, walk out and be done with it.

But I decided that needs to change. So I’m setting out to replace those well-loved and trusted tees over the next few months by hand-made ones.

As coincidence has it, my friend Kim-ing pointed me towards The Seamless Pledge today. Ha, I thought – nothing but a bit of good old peer pressure to keep oneself on track!

So, I’m taking the pledge! These are the rules as stated on the project page:

The rules

  1. No buying new clothes for the duration of your pledge. By new, I mean any new mass-manufactured clothes.
  2. You can buy second-hand manufactured clothes – so be prepared to get to know your local charity shops awfully well.
  3. Vintage clothing is a-ok!
  4. Anything you’ve made by hand is definitely allowed. Get your sewing machines and your kntting needles out, because handmade is definitely in!
  5. Get involved! Join in on the Flickr group and like our Facebook page. I’ll be looking to feature pledgers on the blog in the future. I’d love to see your second-hand finds, refashions and hand-made creations!

I, Kat, am taking the #seamlesspledge until 6 months have passed.

For me, this means: No high street store bought clothes (with the sole exception of certain items of underwear, and tights) for the next 6 months.

Disclaimer: Although making myself a new winter jacket is firmly on my list (and has gone into the planning stage already), I’ll reserve the right to buy a new one in case I fail spectacularly.

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

9 thoughts on “Seamless pledge, or how the cucumber gets on the sandwich”

  1. Congratulations! funnily enough I’m putting a lot more thought into whether i should take this pledge then my wedding vows. I have been married for 12 years so I guess there is every chance I might never buy RTW again if I take it LOL… I think I might try a 6 month stint like you – that’s a sensible commitment to see if I can manage.

    1. I hear you – I felt rather nervous about it! Then I went to my wardrobe and looked at what’s in there, and realized it won’t really change a lot for me. I’m already making most of my clothes, so it totally makes sense.

  2. I think i sort of have taken the secret pledge- I keep thinking I’ll reneg’ if I say it aloud, but I’m finding less and less that amuses me in the stores now that i feel the power of making my own things.

    1. That’s something I have found, too. And for the longest time, I didn’t see the point in making an “official pledge”, really – I already wear a lot of hand made things, so why would I need to shout it off the rooftops?
      I guess what has changed is that I want to encourage more people to be brave, and to believe in themselves.
      Like Lizzie said above, it feels like a HUGE step – but most of us home sewists probably don’t even have to change a lot. I think that’s a powerful realization 🙂

    1. 2 years? Wow, that’s impressive! To be honest, I’m a bit scared by 6 months, and don’t even really know why – it’s not like I spend my free time strolling up and down High Street bargain hunting in fashion outlets, lol.

      1. It’s the thought of abstaining. Once you get into it you will really love it. Well … you might?
        I still really enjoy buying second hand and vintage and refashioning items that aren’t quite ‘me’ or that have seen better days.

  3. Six months is reasonable and you could figure out if you’ve saved any money and buy yourself a present at the end. Maybe a cupcake or two?

    It’s very easy to make t-shirts so make a pattern from one you like before it dissolves in the next wash and start making the perfect one. (I don’t recall if you’ve made tees and I’ve just missed it…)

Leave a Reply

