Jalie 2908 – straight legged jeans in black corduroy

This was the weekend I really, really wanted to finish the black corduroy version of my beloved Jalie Jeans. It should not be.

Jalie 2908
Jalie 2908
To see the pattern online at the Jalie website, click on the picture.

For the first time, I ran into serious mechanical issues. And by mechanical, I mean that my thread would rip about every 10 or stitches. Okay, maybe I’m being a bit overly dramatic, but believe me when I tell you that I stitched some seams up to 5 times.

I tried different thread. Different needles. All possible combinations thereof. One needle broke – it actually kinda pulverized, which was cute in a “oh, wait, this is NOT a youtube video?? NOOOOO!” way.

After fighting with the various seams for a couple of hours, I decided I’d go into town on Sunday, buy some heavy-duty thread and see if that would help.

My hopes weren’ high, as I’ve made a similar pair of jeans out of corduroy before, and I didn’t have any issues with the thread (or the increasingly worrisome noise my sewing machine was making).

However, this was the one thing left to try, so I did. Turns out the thread is no longer ripping, the noise is much better (not entirely gone, but I’ve come to think this fabric is sturdier than the last one, and it’s just the noise of the poor little machine trying to drill the needle through up to 6 layers of the stuff), but I have lost my steam.

All I could bring myself to do was check it actually works, fix a couple of seams (for the 6th time) and then leave it be.

I’m sure there will be another Jalie, but it won’t be this weekend 🙂 Since the fabric has been stashed for about a year, I feel not too pressed, although I could use a pair of black trousers. Or so I keep hoping.

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

4 thoughts on “Jalie 2908 – straight legged jeans in black corduroy”

  1. oh this sounds scary, but maybe it is the fabric? I have some thick needles for heavy duty stuff too if u need some?
    Hope that maybe you can finish them this weekend and it is not a mechanical fault. 🙂

  2. I hope it’s just the thread and it’s not time for a tuneup! I hate mechanical breakdowns…

    I hope you get the momentum back on these jeans, I’ve begun thinking about making pants after seeing the new Craftsy class with Kenneth King on making perfect fitting jeans. You may just push me over the edge with your finished cords…

    1. I think it is, it went better once I changed for some heavy thread.
      And that as it happens, I bought that craftsy class too! Too funny … at that point, I wanted to make a duplicate of my most favorite cords ever – which I smartly threw out a bit later *facepalm*. That’s how I got hooked on the Jalie pattern …

Leave a Reply

