Blue pill or red pill?

This is going to be one of those rambles, so if you decide to read on, don’t say you haven’t been warned.

As I’ve said in my recent post about RTW vs. hand-made clothes, certain topics seem to bubble up a lot in many different places at the same time.

Which speaks a clear language – we all read each other’s blogs, and we voice our take on whatever it is that seems to be the topic of the month. And isn’t that one of the great achievements of the interwebs, to enable discussion within a community of people interested in the same thing, all of which are individuals with their own take and their own opinions and their own flavour of living? I think it is.

Picking up the same topic again might seem like a bit of overkill. But bear with me, if you will, I think it’s worthwhile to think about another side of this.

While a lot of sewsters “take sides”, me being one of them, some manage to straddle the seeming dichotomy between RTW and hand-made without so much as a shrug. Roisin seems to be such a person. She happily presents her self made dresses next to the ones she bought. Which is utterly awesome. Because she so obviously just loves gorgeous dresses.

Others feel it’s necessary to explain why they go and buy stuff, like Lower your presser foot. Which is great, too – that’s what blogs are for, after all, isn’t it?

And then of course there are some with a more serious dedication, who abhor the idea of buying things when so much unused and unloved meters/yards of fabrics are waiting to be repurposed. Zoe from So, Zo and New Dress A Day would be examples for that.

What bothers me a bit is that it sometimes feels like people feel the need to become evangelists for one approach over the other. While I personally am firmly in the camp of “make as much as possible myself”, it never occurred to me to frown upon a different approach to handling your wardrobe.

For one, it’s your wardrobe, after all. I consider myself lucky to get a peek into what usually would be hidden in your dresser (aren’t we all a bit nosey and want to check out other people’s drawer contents?). But more importantly, there really is no need to go on the warpath over this.

We’re a community of humans who share a passion over clothes, and more than that, we like to make them. For whatever reasons, and to whatever extent – that’s what binds us together, and that’s more important than percentages of me-mades vs. RTW.

Yes, I have taken the pledge – but fo’ realz, not a lot has or is going to change for me now that I did. I never liked shopping for clothes – I have a rather particular taste, I have a body that doesn’t play too well with designer sizes, so I find it hard and exhausting to go clothes shopping. Making my own just is a natural solution to that, and I’m glad I (mostly) enjoy doing so. In fact, it’s given me a so much more range, and it’s helped me tremendously to figure out what works for me, what doesn’t, and why.

My point? Let’s all just play together nicely 🙂 We’re not a football league, we don’t have to aim for the top of the sewing mountain, we’re all just people who enjoy playing with fabrics and pointy stick(lette)s. And if we manage to avoid some cheap fashions, keep some stuff out of the skip, and make the world a better place, so much the better!

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

4 thoughts on “Blue pill or red pill?”

  1. Totally agree. Some people feel the urge to convert the world, others are happy to exist within their own values framework. I think it’s important to respect everyone has a different world view and have come to that place through a myriad of experiences. Life is complex and so are all our individual responses to it.
    I always try to teach my kids that difference is just that different. Not good or bad – just different.

  2. I’m not even saying that it’s not okay to take sides. Take sides if you want (no, I’m not going to in this blog!). We’ve all got opinions, and it’s okay to express them. It’s always good to be informed, though. And lest we think we’re informed by watching TV, uh…I’m not so sure. It’s all slanted! It doesn’t really matter which network we watch, the bias will be distinct. And, that’s okay, too. I can handle the bias (either way) as long as I can acknowledge the bias. It helps me know the truth lies somewhere between. God gave me a mind. I think I can figure it out.

    1. Oh, totally! I have no issues with people having or expressing opinions, what irks me are missionary ambitions 🙂 I also think “truth” is a fleeting concept, especially in a world that’s as widely connected as it’s today. There will always be “the other side” you just don’t happen to see or hear about. Which isn’t to say one shouldn’t strive to be informed – that is the way forward.

Leave a Reply

