I might have made a hexagonal mistake.

I have been weirdly fascinated with quilting lately. Or maybe it’s not so weird at all, given that you can make one big thing from many small things, and that in general is a principle that appeals to me.

Anyhow, a while ago I put the free “Block of the month” class on Craftsy on my list, but other than peeking at one or two month’s lectures, didn’t really do anything with it.

Then I stumbled upon this tutorial for english paper piecing on the Make blog, and well, what can I say, without me consciously making a decision, my printer was spitting out the pdf, and I found myself digging through the scraps bin. Which, I have to say, yielded far less loot than I’d expected – maybe I was ogling the fat quarter packs in the fabric shop earlier out of some sense of foreboding? We’ll never know, but the chances that I’ll be back in the fabric shop soon are good 😉

The Beginning

It turned out that I had only two matching fabrics in sufficiently large pieces in my scrap bin, but undeterred I cut them up. And started sewing them together.

Very little to show

When I realized that I probably can’t very well add to it later easily if I sewed all I had to together today, I stopped. But I have to admit, I’m rather pleased by the tiny bit I did accomplish, and what’s more, I kinda enjoyed the hand sewing. Who would have thought.

The pile

And this post wouldn’t be complete if I didn’t show you what I’ve been drooling over after I’d stopped actually sewing the hexis – Pinterest, what else.

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

2 thoughts on “I might have made a hexagonal mistake.”

Leave a Reply

