Butternut squash and apple soup

Before this sewing blog, I had a little blog where I shared recipes.

You probably don’t know this, but at one point in my life, I used to be a chef. And I still love to cook, and occasionally, I cook something I find good enough to share.

This soup is such an instance – it’s a rather classic fall/winter combination, and I’m pretty sure 4 months from now we’ll all have butternut soup coming out of our ears.

Today’s soup is a little bit different, tho, and super quick and easy to make.

You’ll need:

1 butternut squash, seeded, peeled and cut into roughly 1 inch cubes

1 cooking apple (I used a Cox, the apple should be on the tart side), peeled, cored and cubed

2 cloves of garlic

2 tbls olive oil

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp harissa (I used Steenbergs’ Harissa with rose)

1/2 tsp smoked paprika

1 pint chicken, vegetable or whatever you prefer stock

While you’re chopping up your veggies, pre-heat the oven to 200C/390F.

In a medium bowl, mix the olive oil with the spices. If you want it spicier, you can use more harissa, or add some chili. Add the cubed butternut and apple, slice the garlic and toss all together. Transfer to a cookie tray (I line mine with baking parchment) and cook at 200C/390F for 30 minutes. You want them slightly charred, but not burned.

Bring the stock to a boil in a medium pot, reduce heat, add the roasted veggies and puree (I use a hand blender), add more water if necessary. Season with salt and pepper.

Serve and enjoy.

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

5 thoughts on “Butternut squash and apple soup”

  1. Yum! I love squash. I’ll make yours asap as it’s just the thing to help with my cold. I’ve made a similar soup with roasted squash, pear and ginger which is nice combo too.

Leave a Reply

