Temperley Knock-off – it’s done!

The Temperley knock-off is done. It’s been mostly a success – there are a few minor details that could be better (like, you know, the fit) but overall I’m pretty happy with how it turned out and expect this to become a pair of trousers I’ll be wearing quite a bit in Summer.

The next photo is a bit blurry, for which I do apologize, but I like the posture, so I’ll torture your eyes with it anyways:

Temperley Front – fuzzy

Although I used the same size I used for the black jeans, which fits like a glove, this one turned out a bit big. It’s not horribly huge, so still very wearable, but I certainly have learned a lesson about different fabrics and how that influences the fit.

Let’s look a bit closer:

Temperley knock-off front

As you can see, the fly front is a lot better than last time. For starters, it’s the right way around \o/. And the actual zipper isn’t peeking out – yay! It’s still not perfect, but it’s really hard to see the imperfection with this busy fabric, so I’ll call it a success.

Temperley knock-off back

Those wrinkles right under my bum … I have them, to a lesser extent, in all the jeans I’ve made so far, and they will be my next fitting mission. I don’t think they’re too bad, though – or?

All in all, the frankenpatterning worked out great, and I’ve added a pair of non-boring jeans to my wardrobe – for far less than the Β£225 designer jeans cost. I might have to do this more often now.

What do you say – do you check out your favorite designers, and if you see a totally adorable piece, try to replicate it? Is it legit?

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

9 thoughts on “Temperley Knock-off – it’s done!”

  1. they look great! I’m in awe of your replication skills. My grandmother used to do this when she was young, and I would love to have the discipline to sit and try.

  2. Great job! I love the print too. I am being much more brave in attempting to copy something and I like it better, cause I made it. But, those wrinkles, what does that mean? When I look at pant fitting they say follow the wrinkles, but I don’t know what those are saying, I get them too. I don’t know what adjustment to do. I think my issue is the dreaded flat butt.

    1. The print is nice, isn’t it? I found it after much searching on fabric.com. And clearly I need to take leaf out of your book!
      Hrm, I’m not sure about the flat butt … I don’t think mine is flat. So consequently, yours shouldn’t be, either πŸ˜‰

  3. Ha, they look like proper bad-ass trousers, especially with the stance!
    I think it’s completely legit to copy designers – it’s not an exact replica, only an inspiration. Don’t let me put on my lawyer hat though, that could get boring…

  4. I love that you were inspired by a designer and made your own version! so clever and they couldnt be more awesome! πŸ˜€ (just read u will investigate the bum wrinkles, not that they really bothered me looking at them).
    I mainly have been inspired by what I have seen in shops so far or on celebrities, although we both know that a brightly colored shiny coat will need to be made at some point. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

