Basic skirt block

My plan for Saturday was simple: go to fabricland, don’t get lured into buying tons of fabric (maybe, if they still have that black wool/cashmere mix … I still need a warm coat!), grab some thread, fusible interfacing, a couple of zippers, new needles. Go home and sew up the muslin for New Look 6010. Added bonus points for using the massive bedcover I scored a little while back in a charity shop.

But then I made a mistake and looked out the window. I now wished I’d taken a photo for you … it was raining. Raining like it would never, ever stop again. It was raining when I woke up in the morning, and it was raining when I went to bed, and it didn’t stop even for a minute in between.

Now, I know that that’s the kind of weather England is famous for, but in all fairness, here in Brighton it happens rarely. Usually, when it does, it’s in winter. And it’s utterly depressing.

It was clear to me that I had no desire to venture out in that storm – did I mention the rain was flying sideways? It was.

So I decided to get myself another cuppa, and catch up on the roughly 430 sewing blogs I follow. This lead me to discover that there’s a free tutorial on Burdastyle on how to make a basic skirt block (amongst others, like bodice, dress, trousers … so much fun in the future, I just know it!). With me having planned sewing time, but not being able to obtain the thread (and not willing to press ahead with non-matching thread, of which I of course have several miles), I figured why not spend the morning trying this out?

skirt block drafting

Sadly, this is the only photo I took of the process, but in all fairness, there isn’t a lot more to see. With some paper (I used brown paper), a ruler, a measuring tape and a calculator, it took me a good hour to draft the block. French curves come in handy, but aren’t totally necessary.

When I was finished, it was still pissing down. Why not sew it up quickly?, said I to myself. Luckily, I had a bit under a meter left from my leopard print for the Temperley Knock-off, and I thought the somewhat wild fabric would save the skirt from being utterly boring, not having any details to speak of.

While it’s not perfect yet, I’m very chuffed with the result:

Leopard pencil skirt front

You can just about see the wrinkles in the front – that’s the part that needs  a bit work. I’m afraid the dreaded “prominent abdomen adjustment” is dangling over my head …

Leopard pencil skirt back

What you can’t really see here, as I wasn’t going to do a bum close-up, so you’ll have to take my word for it, is that the back waistband fits perfectly. It lies flat, no gaping, not a wrinkle in sight. Which kinda, sorta consoles me about the fat belly thing.

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

4 thoughts on “Basic skirt block”

Leave a Reply

