Self-drafted skirt

A couple of weeks ago, I made this basic pencil skirt block.

Now, as you will have noticed, I’m not really the corporate chic kinda girl, and you might have asked yourself why I bothered.

Well, the reason behind this was that I was hoping to be invited to a 2nd interview for a new job. My contract with my previous employer had come to an end, and to be perfectly honest, by that time I was ready to move on. The only fly in the ointment was that there are not a lot of jobs open right now in my field, and the few there were didn’t thrill me.

Now, that might sound incredibly spoiled and a tad snooty in times of recession, but I do believe that it’s a better deal for everybody involved if you like your work. 40 hours a week are simply too much time to be spent doing something you can’t draw satisfaction from.

Back to the pencil skirt … now, in my line of work, the dress code usually is “business casual”, heavily leaning towards casual – as long as you’ve covered your primary gender characteristics, you should be fine. But interviewing is a whole different affair, and it’s always a good idea to err on the side of caution and let people know you’re willing to make the effort.

And a quick, inexpensive and easy make to achieve  that – tadaaa, the pencil skirt.

So I bought some purple herringbone suiting and matching lining, and set about drafting a pattern.

Purple Herringbone
Purple Herringbone

Then it turned out that I didn’t have to go the the 2nd interview in person, and that the company I was talking to prided themselves in not having any dress code at all (which is not to be confused with not being dressed for work, mind you!). You see, they’re in Gibraltar, where it’s hot and sunny and sometimes really hot and super sunny. Suits just don’t make a lot of sense in that kind of climate.

So I started rethinking what kind of skirt I could make (since I had all the notions and such), and eventually settled for this as my inspiration:

Inspiration For source click on the image, please.

Some hacking of my basic skirt block later, this was born:

Self-drafted skirt with pocket flaps
Self-drafted skirt with pocket flaps

I think it turned out well. The pocket flaps are fake, there are no real pockets, which is a bit of a bummer, and I’ve hence tried to wrap my head around how to include real pockets underneath, without a real result so far. Tips will be super welcome!

I have not used a waistband here, as I felt the look would be cleaner without, so instead I put a facing on the inside:

Facing
Facing

The zip is inserted as a lapped zipper – I should have known that wasn’t the smartest choice, as it’s a tad bulky due to the heavy-weight corduroy I used (leftovers from this jeans), but in itself it turned out beautifully:

Lapped zipper
Lapped zipper

But of course now I’m all over this, and really want to make this skirt:

Really now … For source, please click on the image.

Or maybe something with double-welt pockets.

Oh, and the job? I’ve got it, and I’ll be moving to Gibraltar by mid January. I am so excited – they have monkeys over there!!

Monkey in Gibraltar. For source, please click on the image.

 

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

19 thoughts on “Self-drafted skirt”

  1. Congrats on the job in Gibraltar! Sounds so exotic to be able to live there, oh I can only dream. I like your skirt, very cute.
    I hope you like your new job. I dread these 40 hours a week – it’s totally unfulfilling and I’m not sure what else I can do but I keep at it because it pays the bills and keeps a roof over my head.

    1. Yes, I’m very much looking forward to more sun – obviously, today being super windy and rainy over here helps 😀 I’m wondering what I’ll make next year – I definitely feel like I’m at the start of a very adventurous journey!

  2. Congratulations!!! What a great opportunity and a warm one to boot!

    The only thing I know about Gibraltar is the monkey thing so I’m glad to know you can school us. Happy packing and when in doubt throw it out!

    1. Hehehe – the first two bin bags full of clothes for charity are packed 😀 I’ll be happy to let you all participate in my adventures – I’m also hoping for pretty garment photograph backdrops, or at the very least, actual daylight 😉 Something that’s scarce over here this time of year.

  3. Hey, your skirt turned out great. I am learning how to make a custom skirt block in sewing class and have yet to put it to use in making a skirt. I’m afraid I’m not too much help in how to insert pockets. I have only done patch pockets, to date, which would not work with those flaps. I’m going to follow your blog to see how the next skirt turns out. I hope I’m able to successfully apply my block and make a skirt from it. Stay tuned.

    1. Thank you! I’m loving it, and have roughly a million ideas for variations!
      I also love making skirts (now I only have to learn to love wearing them) – they’re so quick to make, and don’t us a lot of fabric – unless of course you want to go full circle. But I’m not there yet 😀

  4. Glad to hear you landed the job, and thanks for the skirt making tips. I was struggling a bit trying to hem a bell skirt today, but made wee folds all along to spread out the excess.

Leave a Reply

