The endless story continues … another Jalie Jeans

Writing this post is totally my way of procrastinating. I feel like I should be doing a million other things, as you do before a move, but since I actually have the luxury of being moved by a professional removal company who’ll also pack my things, there really is mostly cleaning left. And let me tell you, I’m not keen on that.

So instead I decided before I won’t have access to my sewing machine for weeks I’d finish the already cut Jalie in dark purple corduroy that was drifting around my living room.

I’d made a few changes to the pattern, in the hopes of getting rid of my under-bum-wrinkles issue, as can be seen here:

Temperley knock-off back
Temperley knock-off back

For this, I recruited the help of a couple of fitting books (well, all of the books on fitting I own, actually).

What I did in detail was to remove about an inch on the inner back seam, and adding that on the outside seam. That mostly did the trick, but there’s still a way to go before I can say this is my perfectly fitting jeans, alas.

Purple cords back
Purple cords back

The corduroy I used doesn’t have the tiniest amount of stretch, which makes the whole jeans a tad too tight, but since I’m determined to loose those last 10 pounds I’ve been struggling with these past few months, that should be fine soon.

What feels to me like my biggest achievement is the near perfect fly I managed. Not without a hitch, of course … I put the fly guard on the wrong side and had to rip it out and move it to the other side. Ah, well.

Near perfect fly
Near perfect fly

And because it’s a tad too tight, the lovely vintage button I put on it first broke 😦

Broken button
Broken button

You can see it on the jeans here:

Purple Jeans front
Purple Jeans front

It’s a bit sad, as the colour went well with the back pocket detail:

Back pocket detail
Back pocket detail

But the new button, also out of my stash of vintage buttons, is pretty, too:

 

Old vs. New
Old vs. New

I’ve put some nice flowers in the front pockets – and realized only during my final fitting session that I’d forgotten to top-stitch them! I guess that should teach me not to sew when I’ve got my mind on other things … but then, it made for a perfectly relaxed New Years Day.

Purple jeans pockets
Purple jeans pockets

And that was my first make in 2013. I don’t know how long it will take to find a place to live, and get my things set up and all, sigh. I hate being up in the air like this, I’m a creature of routine and really don’t deal well with having none at all.

Ah, well … it’s only going to be a few more weeks, and then I’ll be living in the glorious sunshine and be coping with a new job and getting to know my new collegues, so overall it’s all great. I just wished I was a few steps further in the process.

Happy New Year to you, and may it bring whatever you wish for!!

 

 

 

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

14 thoughts on “The endless story continues … another Jalie Jeans”

  1. I love the new button!
    You keep me inspired – if I can make trousers even half as well as you’ve made these lovely purple cords jeans, I’ll be happy!
    Happy 2013 and may your move and settling in be stress-free and smooth.

    1. Thank you – it’s not as hard as it might look! I just happen to have a backside that defies easy fitting 😉 Keep going, I love the things you make, and can’t wait to see more of them!

  2. Those are cute! You make pants so darn well, I will try to make some this year…(famous last words). I’d guess the cord stretched out as you wore them, didn’t it? The extra snugness (word?) may just make them perfectly fitting after a bit of wear. Nice work and happy packing. Don’t stress too much, it will all work out well. It usually does!

    1. Thank you! Sadly, it didn’t … in fact, they ripped! I can fix it, I think, but they will remain in the closet now until I lost those 10 pounds I keep talking about 😀
      I’m sure your trousers will be fab – you are a much better seamstress than I am!!

  3. All I can say is wow. Those look like RTW. Love that purple. In my pant making quest I was reading that the closer the fit, jeans and skinny jeans, is tougher to do than say trousers. Which makes sense of course now. So your jean making here just gets my respect all around.

Leave a Reply

