The Rock.

The weekend is here, and since I have no desire to start my new job with bringing in the lurgy for everybody, I called a quiet night in last night. I’m living in a hotel currently, and breakfast plus one other meal are being paid for, so Friday night I chose to have lunch and a bit of a picnic for dinner:

Friday night picnic
Friday night picnic

To be honest, I’d done a similar thing on Wednesday – you remember I had to get up at the totally ungodly hour of 3am to catch my flight, and little wonder I was knackered when I returned to my hotel after saying hi to my new colleagues.

This is what I had that night:

Noms!
Noms!

Today, I will try my first local wine – I didn’t buy the very cheapest, but a reserva that’s in the middle price segment (and hence, about 1/3 of what the undrinkable carton stuff in Brighton costs).

And lest you think I have no making at all to show you, let me set you straight there 😀

The following was my first make of 2013, although it feels like I made them in 2012. I think starting the year with a move to a new country makes the move day your new years day. If that makes sense.

Anyhoo, while I was waiting for my boxes to be delivered, I decided on a whim that I needed a new washbag. And of course, since I was at it, also one of those formidable make-up brush rolls as seen on Didyoumakethat.

Of course I was too crazy that day to actually look her’s up to see how Karen made it, and just winged it. That’s just how I roll, I guess … well, it turned out alright, and it’s doing it’s job nicely.

Flowers! Make-up brushes!
Flowers! Make-up brushes!

I used some remnants from the Lady’s Raincoat, and some quilting cotton that was meant to go into my hexi quilt, but hey … I can always find something similar.

Wash bag and make-up roll
Wash bag and make-up roll

Actually, I’m mostly chuffed – except for the shape of the washbag, I’d give it a broader bottom should I make another one. Which is entirely possible. But then, how many washbags does one need, and trust me, I have no intention of moving again soon.

Why would I, when I have a sunset like this?

Sunset
Sunset
Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

2 thoughts on “The Rock.”

  1. The make-up roll is great, and it’s super useful! No more hunting around for the one missing brush you need, yay!
    And it is really nice here – the city I’m in right now, La Linea de conception, is a tad rough – but one has to keep in mind that we’re in the poorest part of Spain, which isn’t exactly having a brilliant time economy-wise right now. It’s so bad that the “expensive” laundry detergent is actually kept under lock and key in the local supermarket.
    But the landscape is great, and what I’ve seen of the beaches is fantastic … miles of white sand, and the house(s) I’m looking at are all in walking distance to the beach.
    The indoor fish market is amazing, and I can’t wait to have my own kitchen and a BBQ!

Leave a Reply

