Not giving up

Still, I haven’t really come to grips with me being in a new place. The sun is trying to kill me is shining every single day. Despite that, it still gets pretty chilly at night, and frankly, I’ve been cold here more often than in the last 2 years in Brighton. Go figure.

Which might be part of why there really isn’t a lot of progress with making things. My sewing table is not set up yet, but on the bright side, it’s been unearthed from the mountain of boxes that were stacked around it.

There were, however, some making desasters.

First up, my lovely silky cabled socks:

 

Peep toe socks
Peep toe socks

I guess my next skill to acquire should be darning …

Then, I had started a capelet … which, I’ll say it as it was, has been frogged in a moment of frustration and doubt. No photo available, sorry 😦

I then started on a very simple lacy scarf:

Silky scarf
Silky scarf

This was coming along nicely – until I dropped a few stitches, and it just unravelled faster than I could say Shit! So I frogged it, too – and out of pure spite, didn’t cast on with the same yarn again.

Cast on again I did, however – the same simple lace scarf pattern, just with the yarn I had on hand from the capelet. I’ll try to get a photo of it later 🙂

And not to forget the washing incident … my new home has a brand new washing machine. It has magical powers … it turned a pair of lovely, soft and warm socks into this:

Felted socks
Felted socks

So, that’s the poor state of my making endeavours.

But on the bright side, I went to the Carnaval in Cadiz today, and beside the sunshine, the festive atmosphere and the general loveliness of the city, had the best lunch in a long time.

I name him Christian. Then I cut him up. He was delicious.
I named him Christian. Then I cut him up. He was delicious.

 

 

 

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

11 thoughts on “Not giving up”

  1. See, that’s what I fear about socks! BTW, the Fall 2011 issue of Sockupied (which you can get on Interweave) has a really great couple of articles on darning – swiss and regular. They include video. I highly recommend it.

    1. To be fair, I haven’t had many felting incidents with socks – except for that one other time, where a pair ended up in the hot cotton cycle 😀 Funnily, when this happened, two other pairs came out of the same load perfectly fine. So I blame the pretty yarn, and resolved that left-overs will be shawl or cowl or other time that doesn’t need as frequent washing as socks do.
      I’ll check out Sockupied, thanks for the tip!

  2. Well you’ve hit a bad patch, I must admit. At least you’ve survived (sans socks) and will now move forward. Change is hard but it will all come together.

    1. Sometimes shit happens … nothing to do but suck it up and move on. And yes, I’m still very much alive, and despite the somewhat mopey tone of this post, I do love my new home. So all will be well, just a bit more adjusting needed.

  3. what a shame about the recent makes! hope the newest one is going better! oh you did go to the carneval? the squid looks yummy! or is it octopus?
    hope you feel more settled, as in all unpacked and set up soon. 🙂 hugs!

    1. I did go to the carnaval, that was (part) of the lunch I had there, which was fantastic. Some mussels and roasted green peppers were consumed for starters, and there might also have been Sangria 😉
      Finally, the sewing table is set up \o/ Soon the sewing will commence, yay!

      1. yay! great news! oh the lunch sounds sooo good! 😀 cant wait to visit and have awesome lunches together!!!

      2. So looking forward to having you over! Oh – and it was cuttlefish, btw. Also, you’ll be delighted to hear that I tried to have snails for starters, but they were out … lol

    1. What do you mean, learn? I have seen you made a perfect and lovely cardigan … so refresh, maybe? I love Malabrigo, tho … I’ve been ogling the finito for a light cardi lately. What did you get?

Leave a Reply

