It was raining this morning …

… which, to be fair, did not exactly come as a surprise. Now, I do keep an eye on the weather forecast, but my faith in it is limited. So I also keep an eye on the sky. And in that sky I saw the most amazing cloud formations yesterday. That told met the forecast was probably right, and I prepared myself for a day around the house.

Sardines before baking in the oven.
Sardines before baking in the oven.
Sardines out of the oven. Noms.
Sardines out of the oven. Noms.

Some huge shopping was done, and the first meal to come out of that were these sardines, which I baked in the oven with just a bit of olive oil, lemon, garlic and parsley. They were really nice.

Today, I awoke to the pladder of rain, and realized it was a perfect day to finally use the sewing room for it’s intended purpose. It’s been set up for a while:

Sewing table
Sewing table

A couple of days ago, I’d cut out another long-sleeve tee,  using my trusted self-drafted pattern, and today was the day to put it together.

Suddenly, however, I realised I didn’t want the tee all plain, so I chose to do the neckline in a contrast fabric, and add bands to the arms.

This is what came out:

Purple long sleeve tee
Purple long sleeve tee

Not a lot more to say, really – the scraps I used are leftovers from my trip to Walthamstow market last year, and this particular knit was made into another long-sleeve tee. The arms are seriously looooooong, but that’s exactly what I wanted.

The purple knit is a nice, stable double-knit (I think …) that was a leaving gift from my lovely friend Kim-ing, and I’m glad I finally put it to good use. I’d love to give you an eniticing photo in my backyard, with proper light and all that jazz – however, this is what’s happening in my backyard right now:

Rain
Rain

So that will have to wait.

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

9 thoughts on “It was raining this morning …”

  1. So I assume those sardines did not come from a tin.
    Love the tee, the trim the worked well and a great project for a gloomy day.

    1. Haha – no, the poor sods had just been pulled out of the mediterranean.
      Thank you – I’m glad I had this stroke of inspiration to pimp up what otherwise would have been a perfectly nice, but rather bland t-shirt.

    1. Thank you! It’s still a bit weird, tho … while I have totally taken ownership of the rest of the house, in my sewing room I feel a bit like an impostor, lol. Guess only frequent use can cure that.

    1. Thank you – I’m still getting used to so.much.space, but I’m LOVING it 😉
      The job is great – loads of work, but I like to be busy at work – I’m sad like that.

Leave a Reply

