In the absence of …

Just to get it out of the way – it’s still raining. It’s still too cold. But we’ve had a few sunny days as well, and all around me the flowers are starting to bloom, so I’ll take that as a good sign and just firmly believe that soon, oh so very soon, the Costa del Sol will behave itself and display what it got it’s name from – loads of sun. Yup. I have faith.

That being said, that’s mostly all I have for you.

Mostly, but not quite – there has been some further unpacking. Or actually some rearranging things. One day, it occurred to me that I have loads of unused wardrobe space, and in the absence of actual garments, why not fill it with garments-to-be?

So I got all my stash out of it’s plastic bin and put it in the wardrobe:

The Stash
The Stash

That was quite a good idea, if I do say so myself 🙂 Now I know exactly what I have – which, of course, also shows me clearly what I don’t have, and that’s the fabric I want. Oh, the hard life!

As a matter of fact, that turns out to be a bit of an issue, as the options to buy fabric locally are somewhat limited. I scouted two stores which sell fabrics, one in Gibraltar, another one in La Linea. Sadly, though, neither of them has ANYTHING I actually want to buy. On top of that, they’re rather expensive – which is a bit nuts, as everything else here is so much cheaper than back in good ole Blighty.

I did, however, finally find an online shop who ships for reasonable rates – UKfabrics online. So I ordered some more denim (yes, I’m still obsessed with making yet another Jalie Jeans. Judge me.), and some funky vintage flowery fabric. Experience tells me, however, that it’ll be roughly 4 weeks before I get my hot mitts on that, so in the meantime I’ll have to find something to make from stash.

Aside from that, I started some seedlings.

Seedlings
Seedlings

What you see there are San Marzano tomatoes, Black Cherry tomatoes, and an assortment of herbs and chilies. Some of which came out of last year’s swap with the lovely Silvia – like she knew!

So, peeps, cross your fingers for me – my green thumb has been severely under exercised these last 10 years or so, let’s hope I haven’t lost it.

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

Leave a Reply

