Resting on my laurels

After finishing the first version of Colette’s Laurel, I knew I’d be making more.

The pattern is well drafted, easy to put together and I think really versatile. Which didn’t stop me from basically making the same version again, just in a very lightweight cotton plaid this time.

The fabric has been in my stash for a while – it was purchased at Fabricland, which I miss sorely. Initially, I thought I’d be making a shirt from it, and there still is a shirt (Archer, if you must know) in my hopefully near future, it will just not be this fabric.

Because it’s so lightweight, and frays rather easily, I did something previously unheard of on this blog: french seams. Yeah, I didn’t see that one coming either.

Plaid Laurel french seams
Plaid Laurel french seams

There were two minor issues with the french seams – well, actually they’re the same issue πŸ˜€ Because I didn’t really think about it until I’d cut into my fashion fabric, I didn’t widen the seam allowances. Hence I didn’t dare to do french seams in the armscye, for fear it would be too small.

Instead, I sewed two seams very closely together and zigzagged over the seam allowance – I hope that will give the seams enough stability.

Becaues of that, and the fact that this fabric has literally no stretch, it’s a tad tighter than the first one I made, but it’s just okay – I’ve only got to remember to not put on any weight at all.

Plaid Laurel front
Plaid Laurel front

I also changed the method of bias binding the arms slightly, so that the bias band is visible on the outside – I rather like the effect of cutting plaid on the bias, so wanted to show of a teensy peak of it.

Plaid Laurel back
Plaid Laurel back

I also shaved off a scant 1/4 inch or so of the back armscye, and the wrinkles are gone. It stands to reason that this might also be furthered by the french seams, tho. Whatever it was, I’m pretty happy with the fit – it’s a little restrictive over the upper back, but not so much so that I’m unable to raise my arms.

And I have to agree with SewBusyLizzy – the neckline is pretty darn perfect.

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

11 thoughts on “Resting on my laurels”

  1. No, no, no. I am supposed to be focussed and not distracted by new patterns. Stop it. (Rather love this version: that neckline is great; you’ve done a marvellous job.)

    1. Oh, I know how hard that can be!! I haven’t bought any patterns (before I impulse-splurged on four downloadable patterns, lol) for quite a while. I also wonder why one never seems to have the pattern that needs to be made RIGHT NOW?

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ And it’s really tough to stop oneself from buying new patterns – I managed quite well for a good while, but then I saw these four I just HAD TO HAVE. My consolation is that patterns are bit like shoes – sometimes, I can’t find a single pair I want to pay money for for months, and at other times, there’s a regular flood of lovely ones …

      1. I completely understand you… I was able to stop buying patterns for some time as well (you see sometimes nice garment but most of the time the patterns is simple and I have such in my stach – what makesthe garment beatyful and exeptional is fabric)… then I have seen some pattterns I HAD TO HAVE as well πŸ™‚ . I do not regret – they are really great and I have used them so many times now that they for you paid back. Besides I think I am addicted to patterns – I just like to have this one – for later πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

