The fierce basil and other plants.

To get it out of the way – there’s still not enough sewing happening around here. Some … occasionally. Like this t-shirt.

Non-descript tee
Non-descript tee

Please to forgive the horribly overexposed photo … the sun had long left the balcony and wandered over to the other side of the house (it was in fact near 8pm when I took the photo, and that’s the east-facing balcony), but She was still too bright for my shoddy little camera.

Not a lot to say – my self-made t-shirt sloper, with Laurel-style sleeves this time. I’ve also added a band as finishing to the seam, which I quite like. This one is just a tad too short to be perfect.

When I sewed this one up, using some jersey I bought in Walthamstow, I made another one from some black double knit. I love it to bits – it came out with this peculiar look of a well-loved but miraculously shiny new shirt to it. Since She, The Sun, was so bright, I didn’t even attempt to get a shot. You’ll see it in time, I’m sure.

In other news – my little gardening efforts are going well so far. The greenflies are eating up the roses, which does annoy  me – but in all honesty, if that means they stay off my tomatoes, I’m down. Sorry, roses. I still try to help you!

If you have no love for plants at all, you should resume your regularly scheduled blog surfing now. Otherwise, prepare for an onslaught of green:

Buds. Close up. Excitement!
Buds. Close up. Excitement!
The first buds have appeared!
The first buds have appeared!
The fierce basil.
The fierce basil.
San Marzano tomato plant
Thai basil, chilies and moar tomatoes. 

 

Parsley, coriander, chili and garlic chives.
Parsley, coriander, chili and garlic chives.
Marjoram, and a tomato plant.
Marjoram, and a tomato plant.
Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

8 thoughts on “The fierce basil and other plants.”

  1. I like the top! Looks like a great casual day outfit, the print is very fun! And man oh man am I jealous of all those herbs! Our garden is usually huge, however we have been super busy and will be gone for most of June so as of now it’s nonexistent…i almost always have basil growing, and yours looks so huge and green and fragrant and delicious! Enjoy making some yummy meals!

    1. Thank you!
      I’ve been wanting an outdoor space to grow some herbs and other easy vegetables for years 😀 so I’m super happy with my little garden. In all honesty, the backyard needs a lot of work, as it’s tiny but rather weedy … lol!

  2. Do you have your camera on auto? Try setting the flash so that it always shoots. Sounds counterintuitive but might counteract the over exposure issue 🙂

    Your top & your garden look great!

  3. I like your little garden! You’ve got me thinking about planting a few herbs – but don’t the bugs eat the basil? The one time I tried basil it was an insect buffet.

    1. Well, they seem to be favored by some sort of hole eating entity … not too bad yet, though. It’s just so lovely to be able to go outside and gather a few sprigs of this and a couple of leaves from that!

Leave a Reply

