More of the same …

Are you getting bored with my Laurels yet? Clearly, I’m not – I made two more over the weekend.

This time as dress versions. For the dresses, I went up a size, because after some consideration I realized I found the blouses a tad too tight over the bust. Maybe that was a mistake – I made the black linen one first, and ended up taking ~ 2 inches off each side.

Black Linen Laurel
Black Linen Laurel

I know, yet another horrific photo … I’ll try to get shots with me in it, but my camera clearly is a poor weather baby and has huge trouble with the sun here.

Anyways, after I’d made this one, I transferred my changes to the pattern, moved the darts a little bit more (again), and made another sleeveless version.

Sleeveless Laurel
Sleeveless Laurel

Last week, my parents came down all the way from Germany to visit me, and parents being parents, they asked what they could bring me from home. Now, I have all sorts of weird food issues – the most prominent being a rather pesky gluten intolerance. My mother, bless her, tries really hard, but invariably ends up bringing me food I can’t eat without making myself miserable. So this year, I thought we try something else, and asked her to bring me some fabric.

It was a huge success – my mother had weeks of fun bartering with the merchants on her hometown’s market, and I got 8m of nice fabric – mostly solid knits, but this fabric is a light woven cotton-something mix. To be fair, it’s a tad too blue for me, but for some reason I really love it.

My only woe with this make is that I cut sleeves before realizing that it would be much better sleeveless in this drapey fabric … maybe I can squeeze another blouse out of the remnants to avoid the sleeves going to waste.

Manteo growing
Manteo growing

In related news, I think this cardi will go great with the dress, non? Just need to finish it … and hope it blocks out, as it’s looking awfully small at this stage.

And last but not least, my plants. They seem to like it here 😀 When I started the seedlings back in February, I passed a few plants on to friends, since I had far too many. Out of the whole bunch, mine have outgrown all their siblings in the most impressive manner. I don’t know what it is, but I love it!

San Marzano tomatoes:

San Marzano tomatoes
San Marzano tomatoes

Rambling red (stripey tomatoes!):

Stripey!
Stripey!

And the herbs – parsley, coriander, 2 sorts of thai basil, italian basil and pink wonder tomatoes:

The wild growth
The wild growth

There are a few more things on the needles, but I’ll save them for another post.

Oh, and the rain? Nothing but a distant memory. I might even be a teensy bit sun burnt. Maybe. 😉

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

7 thoughts on “More of the same …”

  1. Love your laurels! It’s such a go to pattern, no one can get sick of laurel! And those San marzano tomatoes look amazing, my mother is an off the boat Italian and she swears by San marzano tomatoes. Delish!

    1. Thank you! And it’s true, I’m probably still not done with Laurel, lol 😀
      A good friend of mine, who’s Italian, has raved about the San Marzanos, so I just had to try – and it’s looking good so far. Can’t wait to taste them!

  2. I like those Laurels! I’m sure they look great on you and I’m sure are very versatile. Great makes.

    How wonderful that your mom got into the fabric buying – a great new tradition.

    I’m in awe of your garden! You’ll have some yummy produce soon.

    1. They are perfect little summer dresses – flattering, easy to wear and easy to put together.
      The garden is amazing, isn’t it?? I have no idea what I’m doing, but it seems I’m doing something right, lol.

  3. wow love the print on the sleeveless one! Hope you do get to take pics in them soon too. 🙂
    Also really liking the look of the cardi! hope blocking goes OK! And your plants are a dream!!

Leave a Reply

