Something new! Something else!

Okay, so that’s not entirely true. I did make something else – two tiny pocket tank tops from Grainline, but I’m still having disagreements with my camera. The last set of photos I tried to take 30 minutes after sundown, but they still turned out completely overexposed – I might have to get used to the idea of getting a new camera 😦

That's how dark it was ...
That’s how dark it was …

Instead, I’m going to show you … another Laurel! Yay! (Not? You’ve seen enough of them already? Then you probably want to skip down to the very last photo, which is a sneak peek of my next project – it’s kinda awesome!)

The weekend before last, I went on a quick trip back to Brighton. A previous coworker of mine had decided to go back to Germany, and I thought it would be fun to combine a much needed short vacation with a surprise appearance at her leaving do. Long story short – it was a roaring success! It was lovely to see all my friends again, and to get some fabric shopping done while I was at it. In fact, I’d shelled out > 30 quid to bring an empty suitcase over πŸ˜€ needless to say, it was very much not empty on my way back.

This double-knit was one of my purchases, from the much missed Fabricland (usual disclaimer here – their website WILL make you want to pour bleach into your eyes).

Fabric detail
Fabric detail

It’s no secret that I love black, and gray, and pink – what you might not know is that I also have a distinct faible for art deco and jugendstil, and this fabric has it all. Win!

One of my lovely colleagues at work took these snaps with my phone – please forgive the resulting lack of quality in the photos.

art deco laurel front
art deco laurel front

Not sure what’s going on with that derp face there πŸ˜€

The only thing I changed is that I shaved off a couple of inches at the side bust seams, to account for the amount of stretch in the double knit fabric.

I also employed a slightly different method of finishing the neck and arm bindings by using black fold-over elastic – double knit tends to get a tad bulky with a bias finish, and the fold-over worked like a charm.

art deco laurel back
art deco laurel back

Since all is said and done with the pattern, I’ll give you another view from the side πŸ˜€ just because I can.

art deco laurel side
art deco laurel side

Admittedly not the most flattering angle for me, tho … hm. At least you can see my brand new sparkly ankle strap ballerinas πŸ˜€

And now for the sneak peek – novelty denim! With pink snake skin print! Be still, my beating heart!

Snake skin print denim
Snake skin print denim

Stay tuned!

Author: kokorimbaud

Love all things vintage, especially knitting from the victorian era through to the swinging twenties.

4 thoughts on “Something new! Something else!”

  1. I adore that dress! It’s a great style for you so keep making more of them πŸ˜‰

    I’m glad you had fun AND fit in fabric shopping – we shall see some interesting things comin’ round the mountain…

Leave a Reply

